Commission on Immigration

2020-2021 Members and Staff


  • Wendy Wayne, Chair

    CPCS Immigration Impact Unit

  • Lisa Dornell

    Retired Immigration Judge

  • Peter Gilbert

    Capital One

  • Denise Gilman

    University of Texas Law School

  • Mary Giovagnoli

    Kids in Need of Defense (KiND)

  • Mark H. Greenberg

    Migration Policy Institute

  • Karen Grisez

    Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson LLP

  • Angelo Arnaldo Mathay

    Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC)

  • Mary K. Ryan

    Nutter McClennen & Fish LLP

  • Maureen Schad

    Norton Rose Fulbright

  • Ilyce Shugall

    Former Immigration Judge

  • Maunica Sthanki

    The Raben Group

  • Christy Williams

    Catholic Legal Immigration Network (CLINIC)

Special Advisors

  • Dr. Dora Schriro

    Commission on Immigration

  • Betty Balli Torres

    Texas Access to Justice Foundation

  • Angela Vigil

    Baker & McKenzie

Advisory Committee

  • Prof. Michael J. Churgin

    University of Texas School of Law

  • Christina DeConcini

    World Resources Institute

  • Nicholas Espíritu

    National Immigration Law Center

  • Wafa Hoballah

    WJH Law Group

  • Michelle Jacobson

    Fragomen, Del Rey, Bernsen & Loewy LLP

  • Prof. Karla Mari McKanders

    Vanderbilt University School of Law

  • Adonia Simpson

    Americans for Immigrant Justice

  • Thomas Andrew Saenz


  • Andrew Wachtenheim

    Immigrant Legal Resource Center

  • Chloe Raquel Woods

    Virgin Islands Bar Association


  • Bonnie Fought

    Board of Governors

  • E. Christopher Johnson, Jr.

    Business Law Section

  • Karen T. Grisez

    Standing Committee on the American Judicial System

  • Denise Gilman

    Section of Civil Rights and Social Justice

  • Nadine Wettstein

    Criminal Justice Section

  • Llewelyn Pritchard

    Family Law Section & Senior Lawyers Division

  • Maureen Essex

    Government and Public Sector Lawyers Division

  • Caroline Orzac Shoenberger

    Commission on Hispanic Legal Rights and Responsibilities

  • Hedwin Salmen-Navarro

    Section of International Law

  • Judge H. Alexander Manuel

    Judicial Division

  • Jonathan A. Grode

    Section of Labor and Employment Law

  • Justin Lo

    Law Student Division

  • Robert Juceam

    Standing Committee on Legal Aid and Indigent Defendants

  • Loren Kieve

    Section of Litigation

  • Sarah Brunet

    Young Lawyers Division

  • Jeremy L. McKinney

    American Immigration Lawyers Association (AILA)

  • Hon. Mimi Tsankov

    National Association of Immigration Judges (NAIJ)

  • Mary Ryan

    Unaccompanied Minor Immigrants Working Group


  • Meredith Linsky


  • Tanisha Bowens-McCatty

    Director of Legal Initiatives and Member Education

  • Kursten Phelps

    Director of Legal Programs and Operations

  • Jennie Kneedler

    Director of Policy and Pro Bono

  • Elizabeth Taufa

    Staff Attorney

  • Zohal Khan

    Staff Attorney

  • Renée Y. Lynn Minor

    Supervisor of Business Administration

  • Bridget Carolan

    Program Assistant

  • Bernardo Jimenez

    Program Assistant

  • Rachel Tickner

    Program Assistant

  • Edgar Alarcon

    Program Assistant

  • Kimi Jackson

    Director, South Texas Pro Bono Asylum Representation Project (ProBAR)

  • Adela Mason

    Director, Immigration Justice Project (IJP) of San Diego

  • Dalia Castillo-Granados

    Director, Children's Immigration Law Academy