chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
November 29, 2021

2019 ABA Silver Gavel Awards Presentation and Reception


July 16, 2019
Reception 5:15 PM
Program 6:00-7:30 PM

National Press Club
Grand Ballroom, 13th Floor
529 14th Street, NW
Washington, DC 20045

View the Full List of Winners >>



Bob Carlson 
American Bar Association

Featured Speaker
Elaine Weiss
Award-Winning Journalist 
and Author

Speaker Biography

Elaine Weiss is a Baltimore-based journalist and author of the The Woman’s Hour: The Great Fight to Win the Vote, which received the 2019 ABA Silver Gavel Award for Books. Additional critical acclaim for The Woman's Hour included glowing reviews from the New York Times, Wall St. Journal, Christian Science Monitor, and NPR. Elaine has presented talks about the book and the woman’s suffrage movement at the Library of Congress, National Archives, New York Historical Society, and many other venues. Steven Speilberg’s Amblin production company has optioned the book for adaptation, with Hillary Rodham Clinton serving as executive producer.Speaker Bio:

Elaine has worked as a Washington correspondent, congressional aide and speechwriter, magazine editor, and university journalism instructor, and her byline has appeared in many national publications, as well as in reports and documentaries for National Public Radio and Voice of America. Her magazine feature writing has been recognized with prizes from the Society of Professional Journalists and her long-form writing earned a Pushcart Prize “Editor’s Choice” award. Her first book, Fruits of Victory: The Woman’s Land Army in the Great War, published by the University of Nebraska Press in 2008, was excerpted in Smithsonian Magazine online and was featured on C-SPAN and public radio stations nationwide. Elaine received her undergraduate degree from Hamilton/Kirkland College and a master’s degree from the Medill School of Journalism of Northwestern University. When not working at her desk, Elaine can be found paddling her kayak on the Chesapeake Bay. And she votes in every election.


Thanks to the generous support of Butler Snow LLP.