chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

2019 Gavel Award Winners

Recognizing Outstanding Efforts to Foster Public Understanding of Law

Read the press release here>>


“The Woman's Hour: The Great Fight to Win the Vote”
Elaine Weiss, author
Penguin Random House/Viking

Honorable Mention

“The Schoolhouse Gate: Public Education, the Supreme Court, and the Battle for the American Mind”
Justin Driver, author
Penguin Random House/Pantheon Books


“I Am Evidence”
Shelved, LLC for HBO Documentary Films
Trish Adlesic, co-director and producer
Mariska Hargitay, producer
Geeta Gandbhir, co-director and supervising editor

Honorable Mention

Magnolia Pictures, Participant Media and CNN Films
Betsy West, director and producer            
Julie Cohen, director and producer


“Sign Here to Lose Everything”
Zachary Mider, reporter
Zeke Faux, reporter
David Ingold, data analyst
Demetrios Pogkas, data analyst


“Protecting the Shield”
Asbury Park Press
Paul D’Ambrosio, investigations director
Andrew Ford, Kala Kachmar, Susanne Cervenka, Alex Gecan, Ken Serrano, 
staff writers

Honorable Mention

“Denied Justice”
Star Tribune (Minneapolis, Minn.)
Brandon Stahl, reporter
Jennifer Bjorhus, reporter
MaryJo Webster, data editor
Renee Jones Schneider, photo journalist


“Dark Money”
American Documentary/POV and PBS Distribution
Big Sky Film Productions with Big Mouth Productions and Meerket Media Collaborative
Kimberly Reed, director, writer and producer
Katy Chevigny, producer
Jay Arthur Sterrenberg, writer and editor
Justine Nagan and Chris White, 
executive producers, POV