2019 Silver Gavel Winners

The work recognized focuses on such matters as the 19th Amendment, untested rape kits, cash-advance companies, bad cops and campaign contributions.

View - 2019 Recipients

2018 Silver Gavel Winners

The 2018 Silver Gavel awarded-work focused on such matters as policing, Japanese American internment during World War II, Thurgood Marshall, Guant√°namo, a murder trial, and mortgage-fraud prosecution.

View - 2018 Recipients

2017 Silver Gavel Winners

Work focusing on eviction, the militarization of policing, understanding landmark U.S. Supreme Court decisions, and challenges in federal courts to state laws regulating abortion providers took top honors

View - 2017 Recipients

Tarlton Law Library

The Tarlton Law Library, Jamail Center for Legal Research at the University of Texas School of Law houses the permanent Gavel Awards archives for the ABA. The archive also maintains a keyword searchable online archive of Gavel Award winners dating back to 1987.