chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
May 19, 2021

2021 Silver Gavel Award Winners


Silver Gavel –Marriage Equality: From Outlaws to In-Laws
Yale University Press
William Eskridge and Christopher Riano, authors
William Frucht, editor

Honorable Mention – Supreme Inequality
Penguin Press
Adam Cohen, author


Silver Gavel –“Driving While Black: Race, Space and Mobility in America”
Steeplechase Films and The Cooperstown Graduate Program
Emily Pfeil, Kathryn Clinard and Steven Bennet, producers
Gretchen Sorin and Ric Burns, writers, directors
Emir Lewis, editor, producer

Honorable Mention – “Belly of the Beast”
Idle Wild Films
Erika Cohn, director/producer
Angela Tucker, Christen Marquez and Nicole Docta, producers

Honorable Mention – “The Vote”
American Experience, A 42nd Parallel Films Production for American Experience
Michelle Ferrari, writer, director, producer
Connie Honeycutt, producer
Nancy Novack and Ilya Chaiken, editors
Mark Samels and Susan Bellows, executive producers


Silver Gavel –“Fear, Illness and Death in ICE Detention”
Type Investigations
Seth Freed Wessler, reporting fellow

Honorable Mention – “The 1857 Project”
Gateway Journalism Reveiw
William Freivogel, publisher
Steve Edwards, illustrator
Amelia Blakely and Kayla Chamness, student reporters


Silver Gavel –“American Injustice”
Reuters Staff


Silver Gavel –“Targeted”
Tampa Bay Times
Kathleen McGrory and Adam Playford, investigations editors
Neil Bedi, investigative reporter
Douglas Clifford, staff photojournalist

Honorable Mention – “Myon Burrell Walks Free”
Associated Press
Robin McDowell and Margie Mason, reporters
Sasha Aslanian, producer
John Minchillo, photographer


Silver Gavel –Buried Truths Season 3 | Ahmaud Arbery
Je-Anne Berry and John Haas, executive producers
David Barasoain, senior producer
Richard Halicks and Hank Klibanoff, writers

Honorable Mention – “Louder Than a Riot”
Rodney Carmichael and Sidney Madden, hosts/reporters
Rachel Neel, senior supervising producer
Michael May, Matt Ozug, Dustin DeSoto, Adelina Lancianese and Sam Leeds, producers
Chiquita Paschal and Chenjerai Kumanyika, editors
Steve Nelson, senior programming director
Lauren Onkey, senior music director