chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

Winners Announced

67th Annual Silver Gavel Awards

We received outstanding submissions this year and are grateful to the Gavel Awards Screening Committee for their dedicated review and the difficult decisions they had to make. We are pleased to announce our winners and extend our congratulations to the exceptional individuals and groups who produced this work.

View the - Winners

Submit Entry Fee

A handling fee of $150 is required for each entry submitted. When submitting payment for multiple entries, please be sure to choose the correct number of payment entry fees on the rates page during registration.

Sponsorship Opportunities

Become a partner and elevate your brand at the 65th Anniversary Silver Gavel Awards! Enjoy exclusive perks like reserved tables, prime ad space, prominent signage, web recognition, video ad placement, and social media visibility. Join us for an unforgettable event!

View - Sponsorship Opportunities

65th Gavel Anniversary image

Stream the 65th Anniversary Silver Gavel Awards Presentation

The Silver Gavel Awards are highly selective; this year the ABA is presenting nine Silver Gavels in all eligible categories, which include books, commentary, documentaries, drama, literature, magazines, multimedia, newspapers, radio, and television. Stream the virtual event that happened, Tuesday July 25, 2023 at 5:30 PM ET.

Stream - Award Ceremony

Standing Committee on Gavel Awards

Entries are first review by a 50-person screening committee. Screeners include lawyers, judges, journalists, scholars, and other volunteers. Finalist entries are reviewed by the ABA Standing Committee on Gavel Awards for award selection.

Award Categories


Full-length (at least 50,000 words) books of nonfiction with ISBNs. Only “hard copy” entries may be submitted (5 books).


Open to commentary, editorials, columns, criticism, editorial cartoons, blogs, and other opinion journalism, regardless of medium of production or dissemination (i.e., print, online, video, and audio entries are all eligible).


Film and video documentaries (non-fiction, unscripted), whether or not they were telecast on television, on the web, or independently screened. Companion websites may be submitted as part of entries.

Drama & Literature

Open to drama and literature, regardless of medium of production or dissemination (i.e., film, television, books and other media are eligible), including docudramas, episodes of dramatic television series, original dramatic films produced for general theatrical release or for television, novels, plays, and short stories may be submitted as part of entries.


Any article or series published by a magazine (periodical or journal). Magazines may submit both (or either) print and digital content.


Open to digital and other media entries not subsumed under other award categories. Includes entries representing multiple, hybrid, or convergent media. Must include substantial new content produced during 2020. Online entries must be submitted as ONE URL to be eligible. All digital entries must be publicly accessible through August 31, 2021.


Any news article or series published by a newspaper. This category includes investigative, explanatory and other deadline and non-deadline reporting, as well as features. The newspaper may operate with print or digital formats, or both. Open to dailies and weeklies.


Any audio program telecast by network, satellite, or individual radio stations. Included in this category are investigative, explanatory, and other deadline or non-deadline reporting, talk radio, and features. Also eligible are original audio webcasts or podcasts. Companion websites may be submitted as part of entries.


Any program (including documentaries) telecast by cable, network, or individual television stations during the period of eligibility. Also eligible are original video webcasts. Companion websites may be submitted as part of entries.

1958-2017 Winners

These past winners have been selected for the Silver Gavel Awards for Media and the Arts, which recognize outstanding work that fosters the American public’s understanding of law and the legal system. This is the ABA’s highest honor in recognition of this purpose.