chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

Section of Public Contract Law Awards

Recognition of the achievements of our members for contributions to the PCL Section and the federal, state and local procurement community.

Public Contract Law Journal Writing Competition

Public Contract Law Journal Writing Competition

Through our annual writing competition, the PCL Section introduces itself to the next generation of public contract lawyers. In addition to cash awards, quality papers are considered for publication in the Public Contract Law Journal.

Learn More →

Writing Competition Rules

View the full competition rules for the PCL Section Writing Competition.

Read the Rules →

Writing Competition Entry Form

Fill out and return the PCL Writing Competition entry form to Section Director Patty Brennan. Deadline is September 30, 2024 at 11:59 p.m.

Download the Form →

Full Meeting Scholarships and The Marilyn Neforas Meeting Scholarship for Young Lawyer Women in Public Contract Law

The purpose of the Section of Public Contract Law Meeting Scholarship Program is to address barriers to active participation in the Section by investing in attorneys who will participate actively in, and contribute to, the substantive work of the Section.

Learn More →
PCL Section Awards

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award was awarded to Alan E. Peterson in recognition of over three decades of exceptional service to the legal profession, accounting community, the American Bar Association and the Section of Public Contract Law.

Learn More →

Fellows’ Spirit of Leadership Award

Public Contract Law Section Fellows’ Spirit of Leadership Award is to be given periodically by the Fellows to recognize a Public Contract Law Section member who has demonstrated significant leadership, the highest degree of professionalism, and a substantial, consistent and long‑term record of encouragement and support to others to become and remain active in the Section. It may also be given to an individual who has contributed exceptional service to the support, development, and implementation of programs to enhance participation and leadership development within the Section and the public contract community. This award is intended to support and encourage individual efforts to grow participation in the Section and develop leadership qualities in Section members and assure it is recognized that such efforts are core values of the Section.

Learn More →

Donald McL. Davidson Award

The Donald McL. Davidson Award is presented periodically to a member of the Section of Public Contract Law whose participation has been outstanding in the promotion of state and local procurement activities in the Section. Mr. Davidson was a long-time member of the Section, holding offices as a Council Member, State and Local Division Chair, Chair of Region VIII, and Co-Chair of the Region Division. His tireless efforts on behalf of the Section resulted in increased membership and activities. Also, in spite of a severe physical disability as a result of polio, he led a vigorous professional life as a construction trial lawyer and was active in legal and civic affairs.

Learn More →

Allan J. Joseph Excellence in Leadership Award

The Allan J. Joseph Excellence in Leadership Award was established in 2012 to recognize a Section member or associate for exceptional individual effort and accomplishments and extraordinary contributions to the Section of Public Contract Law. Allan Joseph’s legal career, spanning over five decades, was devoted to the work of the Section of Public Contract Law and to the American Bar Association. This award is presented at the discretion of the Section officers and is presented on occasion and not on an annual basis.

Learn More →