July 15, 2019

E. Smythe Gambrell Professionalism Award

The E. Smythe Gambrell Professionalism Awards, administered by the ABA Standing Commit­tee on Professionalism and supported by the E. Smythe Gambrell Fund for Professionalism, recognizes the nation’s exemplary, innovative, and on-going professionalism programs in law schools, bar associations, courts and other legal organiza­tions that help ensure the maintenance of the highest principles of integrity and dedication to the legal profession and the public. Each award carries a $3,500 prize. 

The Gambrell Awards were established in 1991 and are named for E. Smythe Gambrell, ABA and American Bar Foundation president from 1955 to 1956. Gambrell founded the Legal Aid Society in Atlanta, where he practiced law from 1922 until his death in 1986.

Nominations for the 2019 Award
are now closed.

The Gambrell Awards will be presented on August 9, 2019 at the NABE/NCBP/NCBF joint luncheon held during the American Bar Association’s 2019 Annual Meeting in San Francisco, CA.

Questions regarding the awards should be directed to Senior Counsel, Theresa Gronkiewicz
at (312) 988- 5299 or via email

2019 Award Recipients

  1. The Dallas Bar Association Day of Civility started as a local program and is now a state-wide initiative supported by a Joint Proclamation signed by state and federal court judges. The Day of Civility is designed to provide lawyers in Texas an opportunity to reaffirm and embrace the principles espoused in the Texas Lawyer’s Creed, encouraging lawyers to conduct themselves with utmost courtesy and professionalism toward all persons, including judges, adversaries, clients and other colleagues.
  2. The Greater New Orleans Louis A. Martinet Legal Society Pathways and Pipelines to Success program offers African-American law students from all four Louisiana-area law schools professional development, career-building tools and networking opportunities by immersing them in experiential learning, exposing them to exceptional professional development resources and role models, and assisting them in transitioning after law school to professionals.  
  3. Stetson University College of Law Professional Development Conference: Campus to Career program, designed to help transition students from a student mindset to a professional one, facilitates decision-making and increased engagement and enrollment in experiential and co-curricular learning opportunities by strengthening students’ knowledge and skills in nine competency areas: resilience, time management, professionalism, decision-making, planning, civility, self-assessment, mentoring and wellness. 

Past award recipients