chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
March 08, 2021



Michael Franck Professional Responsibility Award

In 1994, the Center for Professional Responsibility created the Michael Franck Award for Professional Responsibility to acknowledge "individuals whose contributions in the area of lawyers' professional responsibility set an example of insight into the demands of legal professionalism, dedication to the highest level of ethical conduct, and a vision of constant improvement of lawyer regulation in the public interest."

E. Smythe Gambrell Professionalism Award

Funded by the E. Smythe Gambrell Fund for Professionalism, this cash award recognizes bar associations, law schools, law firms and not-for-profit law-related organizations that have established effective, on-going programs to help ensure the maintenance of the highest principles of integrity and dedication to the legal profession and the public.

Rosner and Rosner Young Lawyer Professionalism Award

In August 2009, the ABA Board of Governors approved the request of the Council of the ABA Fund for Justice and Education to create the Rosner and Rosner Justice Fund and the Rosner and Rosner Young Lawyers Professionalism Award. The award is administered by the Center for Professional Responsibility. The inaugural award will be presented at the 2010 annual meeting of the American Bar Association.

National Award for Innovation and Excellence in Teaching Professionalism

Co-sponsored by the American Bar Association Standing Committee on Professionalism and the Conference of Chief Justices and supported by the Burge Endowment for Law & Ethics.

Isaac Hecht Award for Excellence in the Field of Law Client Protection

The Isaac Hecht Award is presented annually by the National Client Protection Organization at the National Forum on Client Protection. This award honors the memory and career of Isaac Hecht, whose professional career and his pioneering support of law client protection funds stand as lasting monuments to a lawyer’s life “lived greatly in the law.”