October 05, 2011

Appendix B

Witnesses at ABA Commission on Multidisciplinary Practice Hearings

November 12-13, 1998 Washington, DC
Alison Crawley Head of Professional Ethics, Law Society of England and Wales
Andrew Scott President, Law Institute of Victoria
Dr. Thomas O. Verhoeven Oppenhoff & Radler
Elizabeth Wall Group Director of Legal and Regulatory Affairs, Cable & Wireless plc
Gerard Nicolay Managing Partner, Coopers & Lybrand Juridique et Fiscal
Harold Levinson Professor of Law, Vanderbilt University School of Law
J. Rob Collins Blake, Cassels & Graydon (Law Society of Upper Canada)
James Holden Steptoe & Johnson (former Chair, ABA Section of Taxation)
James R. Silkenat Winthrop, Stimson, Putnam & Roberts (Chair of the Task Force on International Legal Services of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York)
Janet L. McDavid Hogan & Hartson LLP (Chair-elect, ABA Antitrust Section)
Karen D. Powell Petrillo & Powell, P.L.L.C.
Leslie S. Shapiro Padgett Foundation (former IRS Director of Practices)
Linda Galler Professor of Law, Hofstra University School of Law
M. Peter Moser Piper & Marbury LLP (Chair, ABA Standing Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility)
Michel Gout President, Council of the Bars and Law Societies of the European Union
Stephen J. McGarry President, Lex Mundi
Steven A. Bennett Executive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer, Cardinal Health, Inc.
Susan Gilbert Ethics Counsel, District of Columbia Bar
Ward A. Bower Altman Weil Pensa, Inc
William D. Elliott Kane, Russell, Coleman & Logan, P.C.
William Freivogel Loss Prevention Counsel, Attorney Liability Assurance Society


February 4-6, 1999 Beverly Hills, California
Abbie F. Willard Assistant Dean of Career Services, Georgetown University Law Center
Charles F. Robinson Law Offices of Charles F. Robinson
David Ostrove Ostrove, Krantz & Ostrove (Past-president, American Association of Attorneys-Certified Public Accountants)
Dr. Hans-Jürgen Hellwig Vice-President, Deutscher Anvaltverein
Gérard Mazet Managing Partner, Jeantet & Associés (President of the International Commission of the French National Bar Council)
James Jones Vice Chairman and General Counsel, APCO Associates James Turner Executive Director, H.A.L.T.
Jay G. Foonberg Bailey & Marzano
John Dzienkowski Professor of Law, University of Texas School of Law
Judith M. Billings Judge, Utah Court of Appeals (Chair, ABA Standing Committee on Pro Bono and Public Service)
Kathryn A. Oberly Vice Chair and General Counsel, Ernst & Young LLP
Larry Ramirez Law Offices of Larry Ramirez, P.A. (Chair, ABA General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Section)
Lawrence J. Fox Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP (former Chair of the ABA Standing Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility)
Lawrence M. Hill White & Case
Lynda C. Shely Ethics Counsel, State Bar of Arizona
Neil Cochran Senior Partner, Dundas & Wilson C.S.
Philip D. Brent Philip D. Brent, P.C. (Past-president, American Association of Attorneys-Certified Public Accountants)
Samuel B. Sterrett Vinson & Elkins (former Chief Judge of the U.S. Tax Court)
Simon V. Potter Canadian Bar Association International Practice of Law Committee
Stefan F. Tucker Tucker, Flyer & Lewis, A Professional Corporation (Chair, ABA Section of Taxation)
Sydney Traum Sydney S. Traum, P.A (Past-president, American Association of Attorneys-Certified Public Accountants)


March 11-12, 1999

Washington, DC

Bernard Wolfman Bernard Wolfman Professor of Law, Harvard Law School
Irwin L. Treiger Bogle & Gates PLLC (Co-chair, National Conference of Lawyers and Certified Public Accountants)
Joseph P. McMonigle Long & Levit (Chair, ABA Standing Committee on Lawyers Professional Liability)
Laurel Terry Professor of Law, Pennsylvania State University Dickinson School of Law
Lora H. Weber President and Executive Director, Consumers Alliance of the Southeast
Richard I. Miller General Counsel, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
Richard M. Spivak Managing Partner-Tax North America, Arthur Andersen
Roger Page National Director - Washington National Tax Practice, Deloitte & Touche
Samuel A. DiPiazza, Jr. Managing Partner, Tax Services-Americas, PricewaterhouseCoopers
Sydney M. Cone III Cleary, Gottlieb, Steen & Hamilton
Wayne Moore Director of the The Legal Advocacy Group, AARP
William A. Bolger Executive Director, National Resource Center for Consumers of Legal Services
William J. Lipton Ernst & Young (Co-chair, National Conference of Lawyers and Certified Public Accountants)
William M. Hannay, III Schiff Hardin & Waite (Chair, ABA International Law and Practice Section)


Others Submitting Written Comments

Edward L. Summers
James L. Brown, Director Center for Consumer Affairs, University Center for Continuing Education, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Todd Gerber
Judge Frederick D. Pepple Court of Common Pleas, Auglaize County, Ohio
Gregory A. Tselikis, Esq.
Edward Lamar Taylor
Michael H. Horner, President Tom Sawyer Camps, Inc.
Scott Hart, President Ellis/Hart Associates, Inc.
Haydee Velazquez Tillotson, Owner Tillotson Enterprises
Mark Phigler, President Americans for Competitive Telecommunications
Lynn E. Turner, Chief Accountant United States Securities and Exchange Commission
Jim Conran, President Consumers First
David A. Swankin, President Citizen Advocacy Center, American Antitrust Institute 
Marna S. Tucker Feldesman, Tucker, Leifer, Fidell & Bank LLP
Patrick F. McCartan, Managing Partner Jones, Day, Reavis & Pogue
Consumer Representatives The Consumer Alliance
Al Sterman, Vice President Arizona Consumers Council & Secretary/Treasurer, Democratic Processes Center
Washington Legal Foundation
American Association of Attorney-Certified Accountants
Therese M. Stewart, President Bar Association of San Francisco
Ethics 2000 Liaison Committee Los Angeles County Bar Association
Ad Hoc Committee on Multidisciplinary Practice ABA Section of Business Law
Ramón Mullerat, Esq. Former President of the Council of the Bars and Law Societies of the European Community
Board of Regents American College of Tax Counsel
ABA Standing Committee on Specialization
Professor Robert W. Gordon Yale Law School
Jose Marti, European Financial Manager Nalco Espanola, S.A. and Nalco Frances, S.A.R.L.
Damian Gisbert, Financial Director Kellogg's Espana, S.A.


Recommendation     Report    Appendix A    Appendix C    General Information Form      Back to MDP Home Page