Appendix B

Witnesses at ABA Commission on Multidisciplinary Practice Hearings

November 12-13, 1998Washington, DC
Alison CrawleyHead of Professional Ethics, Law Society of England and Wales
Andrew ScottPresident, Law Institute of Victoria
Dr. Thomas O. VerhoevenOppenhoff & Radler
Elizabeth WallGroup Director of Legal and Regulatory Affairs, Cable & Wireless plc
Gerard NicolayManaging Partner, Coopers & Lybrand Juridique et Fiscal
Harold LevinsonProfessor of Law, Vanderbilt University School of Law
J. Rob CollinsBlake, Cassels & Graydon (Law Society of Upper Canada)
James HoldenSteptoe & Johnson (former Chair, ABA Section of Taxation)
James R. SilkenatWinthrop, Stimson, Putnam & Roberts (Chair of the Task Force on International Legal Services of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York)
Janet L. McDavidHogan & Hartson LLP (Chair-elect, ABA Antitrust Section)
Karen D. PowellPetrillo & Powell, P.L.L.C.
Leslie S. ShapiroPadgett Foundation (former IRS Director of Practices)
Linda GallerProfessor of Law, Hofstra University School of Law
M. Peter MoserPiper & Marbury LLP (Chair, ABA Standing Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility)
Michel GoutPresident, Council of the Bars and Law Societies of the European Union
Stephen J. McGarryPresident, Lex Mundi
Steven A. BennettExecutive Vice President and Chief Legal Officer, Cardinal Health, Inc.
Susan GilbertEthics Counsel, District of Columbia Bar
Ward A. BowerAltman Weil Pensa, Inc
William D. ElliottKane, Russell, Coleman & Logan, P.C.
William FreivogelLoss Prevention Counsel, Attorney Liability Assurance Society


February 4-6, 1999Beverly Hills, California
Abbie F. WillardAssistant Dean of Career Services, Georgetown University Law Center
Charles F. RobinsonLaw Offices of Charles F. Robinson
David OstroveOstrove, Krantz & Ostrove (Past-president, American Association of Attorneys-Certified Public Accountants)
Dr. Hans-Jürgen HellwigVice-President, Deutscher Anvaltverein
Gérard MazetManaging Partner, Jeantet & Associés (President of the International Commission of the French National Bar Council)
James JonesVice Chairman and General Counsel, APCO Associates James Turner Executive Director, H.A.L.T.
Jay G. FoonbergBailey & Marzano
John DzienkowskiProfessor of Law, University of Texas School of Law
Judith M. BillingsJudge, Utah Court of Appeals (Chair, ABA Standing Committee on Pro Bono and Public Service)
Kathryn A. OberlyVice Chair and General Counsel, Ernst & Young LLP
Larry RamirezLaw Offices of Larry Ramirez, P.A. (Chair, ABA General Practice, Solo and Small Firm Section)
Lawrence J. FoxDrinker Biddle & Reath LLP (former Chair of the ABA Standing Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility)
Lawrence M. HillWhite & Case
Lynda C. ShelyEthics Counsel, State Bar of Arizona
Neil CochranSenior Partner, Dundas & Wilson C.S.
Philip D. BrentPhilip D. Brent, P.C. (Past-president, American Association of Attorneys-Certified Public Accountants)
Samuel B. SterrettVinson & Elkins (former Chief Judge of the U.S. Tax Court)
Simon V. PotterCanadian Bar Association International Practice of Law Committee
Stefan F. TuckerTucker, Flyer & Lewis, A Professional Corporation (Chair, ABA Section of Taxation)
Sydney TraumSydney S. Traum, P.A (Past-president, American Association of Attorneys-Certified Public Accountants)


March 11-12, 1999

Washington, DC

Bernard WolfmanBernard Wolfman Professor of Law, Harvard Law School
Irwin L. TreigerBogle & Gates PLLC (Co-chair, National Conference of Lawyers and Certified Public Accountants)
Joseph P. McMonigleLong & Levit (Chair, ABA Standing Committee on Lawyers Professional Liability)
Laurel TerryProfessor of Law, Pennsylvania State University Dickinson School of Law
Lora H. WeberPresident and Executive Director, Consumers Alliance of the Southeast
Richard I. MillerGeneral Counsel, American Institute of Certified Public Accountants
Richard M. SpivakManaging Partner-Tax North America, Arthur Andersen
Roger PageNational Director - Washington National Tax Practice, Deloitte & Touche
Samuel A. DiPiazza, Jr.Managing Partner, Tax Services-Americas, PricewaterhouseCoopers
Sydney M. Cone IIICleary, Gottlieb, Steen & Hamilton
Wayne MooreDirector of the The Legal Advocacy Group, AARP
William A. BolgerExecutive Director, National Resource Center for Consumers of Legal Services
William J. LiptonErnst & Young (Co-chair, National Conference of Lawyers and Certified Public Accountants)
William M. Hannay, IIISchiff Hardin & Waite (Chair, ABA International Law and Practice Section)


Others Submitting Written Comments

Edward L. Summers
James L. Brown, DirectorCenter for Consumer Affairs, University Center for Continuing Education, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Todd Gerber
Judge Frederick D. PeppleCourt of Common Pleas, Auglaize County, Ohio
Gregory A. Tselikis, Esq.
Edward Lamar Taylor
Michael H. Horner, PresidentTom Sawyer Camps, Inc.
Scott Hart, PresidentEllis/Hart Associates, Inc.
Haydee Velazquez Tillotson, OwnerTillotson Enterprises
Mark Phigler, PresidentAmericans for Competitive Telecommunications
Lynn E. Turner, Chief AccountantUnited States Securities and Exchange Commission
Jim Conran, PresidentConsumers First
David A. Swankin, PresidentCitizen Advocacy Center, American Antitrust Institute 
Marna S. TuckerFeldesman, Tucker, Leifer, Fidell & Bank LLP
Patrick F. McCartan, Managing PartnerJones, Day, Reavis & Pogue
Consumer RepresentativesThe Consumer Alliance
Al Sterman, Vice PresidentArizona Consumers Council & Secretary/Treasurer, Democratic Processes Center
Washington Legal Foundation
American Association of Attorney-Certified Accountants
Therese M. Stewart, PresidentBar Association of San Francisco
Ethics 2000 Liaison CommitteeLos Angeles County Bar Association
Ad Hoc Committee on Multidisciplinary PracticeABA Section of Business Law
Ramón Mullerat, Esq.Former President of the Council of the Bars and Law Societies of the European Community
Board of RegentsAmerican College of Tax Counsel
ABA Standing Committee on Specialization
Professor Robert W. GordonYale Law School
Jose Marti, European Financial ManagerNalco Espanola, S.A. and Nalco Frances, S.A.R.L.
Damian Gisbert, Financial DirectorKellogg's Espana, S.A.


Recommendation     Report    Appendix A    Appendix C    General Information Form      Back to MDP Home Page