Pro Bono Reporting

States with Required Pro Bono Reporting

State Reporting order/rule Date Requirement Adopted Type of Bar % of Attorneys Doing Pro Bono Average Hoursof Pro Bono Per Attorney* Total # of Pro Bono Hours Provided Comments Contact
Florida Required reporting on dues statement. Failure to report is a disciplinary offense. (Florida Rules of Professional Conduct Rule 4-6.1) 1993, upheld 1997 Unified 2009: 51%
2010: 52%
2011: 51%
2012: 51%
2013: 51%
2009: 22
2010: 22
2011: 23
2012: 22
2013: 22
2009: 1,545,157
2010: 1,614,676
2011: 1,681,775
2012: 1,695,466
2013: 1,740,019
Pro bono can consist of legal work OR financial donation to legal aid. Donations: 1995-1996: $ 1,238,263; 2011-2012: ($4,885,236) Contact:
Kent Spuhler
850-385-7900
kent@floridalegal.org
Hawaii Required reporting.
(Order Amending Rule Supreme Court Rule 17(d))
2007 Unified 2009: 50%
2010: 47%
2011: 43%
2012: 41%
2009: 32
2010: 68
2011: 62
2012: 69
2009: 231,189
2010: 232,325
2011: 196,351
2012: 181,490
Hawaii RPC 6.1. Pro bono can consist of legal work OR financial donation to legal aid. Contact:
M. Nalani Fujimori Kaina
nalani.kaina@legalaidhawaii.org
Illinois

Required reporting on annual registration fee statement.

(Illinois Supreme Court Rule 756(f))
2007 Voluntary 2009: 32%
2010: 30%
2011: 34%
2012: 34%
2013: 34%
2009: 26
2010: 27
2011: ----
2012: 24
2013: 23
2009: 2,197,041
2010: 2,328,770
2011: 2,255,024
2012: 2,142,527
2013: 2,098,472

Pro bono definition not in IL RPC. Pro bono defined in Supreme Court Rule 756(f).  Service to “working poor” counts.

Contact:
Kelly Tautges
312-554-8356
ktautges@chicagobar.org
Indiana Reporting required w/ attorney annual registration. Supreme Court Order Amending Indiana Rules For Professional Conduct . April 2015 Voluntary N/A N/A N/A

Rule effective 4/30/15.

Contact:
Marilyn Smith
Indiana Bar Foundation
317-269-2415
msmith@inbf.org
Maryland Reporting required “as a condition of practice.”  (See FAQ 10’s reference to Rule of Procedure 16-903.)  Required form: “Lawyer Pro Bono Service Report” 2002 Voluntary 2009: 54%
2010: 59%
2011: 58%
2012: 57%
2009: 33
2010: 34
2011: 32
2012: 31
2009: 1,139,866
2010: 1,181,028
2011: 1,163,859
2012: 1,162,232
*Percentage attorneys doing pro bono is full-time practicing lawyers, not all licensed who reported. Contact:
Sharon Goldsmith
410-837-9379
sgoldsmith@probonomd.org
Mississippi Annual reporting requirement.  (Mississippi Rules of Professional Conduct 6.1(e) & 6.1(f)) 2007 Unified 2009: 53%
2010-11: 44%
2011-12: ------
2012-13: ------
2009: 24
2010-11: 14
2011-12: 15
2012-13: 15
2009: 183,016
2010-11: 122,430
2011-12: 134,409
2012-13: 120,469
Pro bono can consist of legal work OR financial donation to legal aid. Contact:
Nicole McLaughlin
nmclaughlin@msbar.org
Nevada

Annual reporting requirement.
(Nevada Rule of Professional Conduct 6.1(b))
Required form: “Annual Pro Bono Reporting Form.” Failure to report = possible $100 fine.

2007 Unified 2009: 43%
2010: 31%
2011: ------
2012: 34%
2013: 33%
2009: 44
2010: 48
2011: ---
2012: 50
2013: 47
2009: 115,443
2010: 140,601
2011: -----------
2012: 139,647
2013: 122,648

Pro Bono Definition Used: 6.1(a)(1)-(2)
(Tiers 1 & 2)

Contact:
bradl@nvbar.org
New Mexico Annual reporting requirement, called “Certification.” Certification form submitted along with State Bar member fees statement. (Rule Governing the New Mexico Bar 24-108(C)) 2008 Unified 2009: 67%
2010: 65%
2011: ------
2012: ------
2013: 57%
2009: 31.5
2010: 31.2
2011: -----
2012: -----
2013: 27.3
2009: 275,733
2010: 271,261
2011: -----------
2012: -----------
2013: 249,888
"Pro Bono" can consist of legal assistance and/or financial contribution to civil legal aid. Contact:
Grace Spulak
(505) 841-4986
New York Required Reporting

Rules of the Chief Administrative Judge, Part 118.1(e)(14)
May, 2013 Voluntary N/A N/A N/A   Contact:
probonoreporting@nycourts.gov
* Average is the total # of pro bono hours divided by the total number of inactive and active attorneys in the state.

States with Voluntary Pro Bono Reporting

State Reporting Status Date of Adoption Type of Bar Number Reporting Comments Contact
Arizona Voluntary Reporting
on dues statement
1994 Unified   Response rates: 31% in '95; 35% in '96. Contact:
Betty Flores
602-252-4804 x215
Betty.Flores@staff.azbar.org
Connecticut Voluntary Reporting January 2012 Unified 2012: 19,300 attys
2013: 17,350 attys
2014: 18,089 attys
After the 2011 Pro Bono Summit, CT adopted a voluntary reporting practice as part of the annual electronic attorney registration. Contact:
Krista Hess
860-263-2734
Krista.Hess@jud.ct.gov
Georgia Voluntary Reporting
on dues statement and on webpage
6/1/2000 Unified   Response rate: 8% in '98 via CLE Form; Rule 6.1 adopted 6/00; reporting policy adopted after promotion by two members of S.Ct. Contact:
Michael Monahan
404-527-8762
mike@gabar.org
Kentucky Voluntary Reporting
on dues statement
6/14/2005 Unified   Rule 6.1.Response rates: 12% in '96; 15% in '98; 16% in '07. Contact:
Jackie Duncan
859-255-9913 x18
jduncan@ajfky.org
Louisiana Voluntary Reporting
full page form enclosed with dues statement
6/1/1998 Unified   Response rates 8-9% in '98 and 15% in '01; 11% in '02; 11% in '03; 11% in '04; 11% in '05; 10% in '06. Contact:
Monte Mollere
504-619-0146
mmollere@lsba.org
Montana Voluntary Reporting
6/22/2005 Unified   60% in '10 Contact:
Patricia Fein
406-794-7824
pfain@mt.gov
Ohio Voluntary Reporting
9/20/07 Voluntary X Supreme Court commentary
Response Rates: 12% in '08
Contact:
Sophia Chang
Ohio Legal Assistance Foundation, Inc.
614-715-8568
schang@olaf.org
Oregon Voluntary Reporting
Reporting Form
  Unified     Contact:
Cathy Petrecca
503-431-6355
cpetrecca@osbar.org
Tennessee Voluntary Reporting
on TBA dues statement since 2006
6/27/2005 Voluntary X on TBA dues statement Compliance rates: 4% in '05; 6% in '06; 20% in '07 increase due to more prominent placement on dues statement. Contact:
Sarah Hayman
615-277-3233
shayman@tnbar.org
Texas Voluntary Reporting
in 2005, began doing an annual telephone survey of 500 randomly selected attorneys about their pro bono work instead of voluntary reporting - more statistically reliable.  Pro Bono hours can also be reported through the State Bar of Texas website.
6/14/2005 Unified   Resolution.Response rates:94/95 - 39.5%; 95/96 - 40.1%; 96/97 - 34.7%; 97/98 - 21.3%; 98/99 - 17.3%; 99/00 - 21.1%; 2000 - 38.7%; 2001 - 37.9%. Format changes '97-'99 reduced prominence of legal services to poor category. Contact:
Trish McAllister
512-427-1855
trish.mcallister@texasbar.com
Virginia

Voluntary Reporting

 

February 27, 2018 (Effective Date: December 1, 2018) The Virginia State Bar is required and unified, while the Virginia Bar Association VBA is voluntary. % attorneys doing pro bono: TBD
Average Hours: TBD
Total # of Hours: TBD

Resolution to Enhance Pro Bono Publico passed by Bar Council several years ago that encouraged attorneys to report voluntarily.

On 2/27/2018 Supreme Court orders that voluntary reporting commences 12/1/2018

Active Virginia attorneys are requested to report as part of the annual dues renewal process, which can be done online or by mail.

Contact:
Crista Gantz, Director, Access to Legal Services, Virginia State Ba
804-775-0522
cgantz@vsb.org
Washington Voluntary Reporting
a separate form included with the annual licensing packet
9/1/2003 Unified   Compliance rates: 13% in '03; 13% in '04; 13% in '05; 15% in '06. Contact:
Diana Singleton
 dianas@wsba.org

States with No Pro Bono Reporting

State Reporting Status Type of Bar Number Reporting Comments Contact
Alabama No Reporting Unified X   Contact:
Linda Lund
334-269-1515 x2246
linda.lund@alabar.org
Alaska No Reporting Unified X   Contact:
Krista Scully
907-272-7469
scullyk@alaskabar.org
Arkansas No Reporting Voluntary X Committee recommended new required reporting 6.1 rule - not adopted yet by Supreme Court. Contact:
Amy Johnson
501-376-3423 x112
adjohnson@arkansasjustice.org
California No Reporting Unified X   Contact:
Sharon Ngim
415-538-2267
sharon.ngim@calbar.ca.gov
Colorado No Reporting
Required Reporting rejected
Voluntary X Rejected S.Ct. rejected in 5/99 Contact:
Kathleen Schoen
303-824-5310
kschoen@cobar.org
DC No Reporting Unified X   Contact:
Monika Kalra Varma
202-737-4700 x3201
MKVarma@dcbar.org
Delaware No Reporting   X   Contact:
Susan Simmons
302-658-5279 x101
ssimmons@dsba.org
Idaho No Reporting Unified X   Contact:
Anna Almercio
208-334-4510 x1870
aalmerico@isb.idaho.gov
Iowa No Reporting Voluntary X   Contact:
Brett Toresdahl
515-244-8617
isbavlp@dwx.com
Kansas No Reporting Voluntary X   Contact:
Anne Woods
785-861-8838
awoods@ksbar.org
Maine No Reporting Voluntary X   Contact:
Juliet Holmes Smith
207-774-5518
jholmes-smith@vlp.org
Massachusetts No Reporting
Required Reporting rejected
Voluntary X Cmte. of Supreme Judicial Court SJC recommended required in preliminary report 4/98 but eliminated from final report 11/98 due to controversy. Contact:
Sheila Hubbard
617-423-0648
shubbard@vlpnet.org
Michigan No Reporting Unified X   Contact:
Robert Mathis
517-346-6412
rmathis@mail.michbar.org
Minnesota No Reporting Voluntary X In 7/99, MSBA approved recommendation to petition S.Ct. for "required reporting" to be included with annual attorney registration statement. Petition to S.Ct. filed 10/99, hearing 12/99, denied 4/00: "Would not significantly advance or assist in the obligation of lawyers to provide pb. svcs." Contact:
Steve Marchese
612-278-6308
smarchese@mnbar.org
Missouri No Reporting Unified   Rule 6.1. Average 10% response rate. Contact:
Robert Stoeckl
573-638-2225
rstoeckl@mobar.org
Nebraska No Reporting Unified X   Contact:
Jean McNeil
800-927-0117
jmcneil@nebar.com
New Hampshire No Reporting Unified     Contact:
Virginia Martin
603-224-6942
vmartin@nhbar.org
New Jersey No Reporting Voluntary   Statewide required pro bono - attorneys can be assigned one pro bono case per year unless exempt b/c provided 25 hours of pro bono services to an approved provider. Contact:
Sharon Balsamo
732-937-7505 x7544
sbalsamo@njsba.com
North Carolina No Reporting See Comments X The North Carolina Bar Association is a voluntary bar association. The North Carolina State Bar is the mandatory, regulatory agency in North Carolina. Contact:
Michelle Cofield
919-657-1565
mcofield@ncbar.org
North Dakota No Reporting Unified X   Contact:
Carrie Molander
701-255-1404
carrie@sband.org
Oklahoma No Reporting Unified X   Contact:
Karen "Sunny" Langdon
918-295-9422
karen.langdon@laok.org
Pennsylvania No Reporting Voluntary X http://www.pabar.org/pdf/StateBarArticleProBonoService.pdf. Also, http://www.pabar.org/public/probono/countyprobono.asp for a county-by-county report of pro bono activities Contact:
David Trevaskis
800-932-0311
david.trevaskis@pabar.org
Rhode Island No Reporting Unified X   Contact:
Susan Fontaine
401-421-7722
sfontaine@ribar.com
South Carolina No Reporting Unified X   Contact:
Jill Rothstein
803-799-6653
jill.rothstein@scbar.org
South Dakota No Reporting Unified X   Contact:
Cheryl Hanna
605-222-5159
access.to.justice@sdbar.net
Utah No Reporting Unified   Rule 6.1.S.Ct. rejected Bar Commission's required proposal. Contact:
Michelle Harvey
801-297-7027
Michelle.Harvey@utahbar.org
Vermont No Reporting Voluntary   S.Ct. Cmte. examining pro bono issues, including reporting. Contact:
Angele Court
802-863-7153
acourt@lawlinevt.org
West Virginia No Reporting Voluntary X   Contact:
Catherine Eckley
866-401-6439
ceckley@lawv.net
Wisconsin No Reporting Unified X In 2006, Supreme Court's Ethics 2000 Commission proposed required reporting. The State Bar opposed the changes, urging the Court to adopt ABA Model Rule 6.1 instead, which the court did - effective 7/1/07. Contact:
Jeff Brown
608-250-6177
jbrown@wisbar.org
Wyoming No Reporting Unified X   Contact:
Nancy Shore
307-632-9061
nshore@wyomingbar.org

State Reporting Policies

 

States with Required Reporting Policies

States with Voluntary Reporting Policies

States with No Reporting Policies