chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
March 11, 2014 Practice Points

Gay Marriage Update

By Emily Ambrose

As of this update, 17 states and the District of Columbia allow gay marriage: Massachusetts, California, Connecticut, Iowa, Vermont, New Hampshire, New York, Maine, Maryland, Washington, Delaware, Rhode Island, Minnesota, New Jersey, Hawaii, New Mexico, and Illinois. Illinois will begin issuing marriage licenses in June 2014. In addition, beginning December 2013, a string of federal district court decisions in Utah, Oklahoma, Virginia and Texas held that their respective state laws banning gay marriage were unconstitutional. Gay marriage in those states is on hold while the appellate courts weigh in. Of the 33 states that do not allow gay marriage, 29 of them ban it by constitutional amendment.

Keywords: litigation, LGBT, gay marriage, same-sex marriage, constitution, state laws, marriage licenses

Emily A. Ambrose is with Blackwell Burke P.A. in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Copyright © 2016, American Bar Association. All rights reserved. This information or any portion thereof may not be copied or disseminated in any form or by any means or downloaded or stored in an electronic database or retrieval system without the express written consent of the American Bar Association. The views expressed in this article are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the positions or policies of the American Bar Association, the Section of Litigation, this committee, or the employer(s) of the author(s).