chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

Nominating Committee Announces 2024-2025 Council Slate

The Nominating Committee, chaired by Leo P. Martinez, Dean and Professor Emeritus, University of California College of the Law, San Francisco, presents the following slate to the Council and the Section for election in August 2024. To read the full announcement and nominee bios, click here

Chair (automatic under Section Bylaws)
David A. Brennen
Professor and Former Dean
University of Kentucky College of Law
Lexington, KY

Chair-Elect (Election to a One-Year Term)
Daniel Thies
Webber & Thies PC
Urbana, IL

Vice Chair (Election to a One-Year Term)
Melissa Hart
Colorado Supreme Court
Denver, CO

Election to a Three-Year Term

Leah Chan Grinvald
Dean and Professor
UNLV William S. Boyd School of Law
Las Vegas, NV

Re-election to a Three-Year Term

Alicia Alvarez
University of Illinois Chicago School of Law
Chicago, IL

Steven C. Bahls
President Emeritus
Augustana College
Rock Island, IL

Carla D. Pratt
Ada Lois Sipuel Fisher Chair in Civil Rights, Race and Justice in Law
University of Oklahoma College of Law
Norman, OK

Barbara A. Sestak
Professor of Architecture
Portland State University
Portland, OR
(Public Member)

Adrien K. Wing
Associate Dean for International and Comparative Law Programs and Professor
University of Iowa College of Law
Iowa City, IA

Law Student Division Member
Election to a One-Year Term

Christiana Burnett
University of Chicago Law School
JD Expected May 2025
Chicago, IL

Section Representative to the ABA House of Delegates
Election to a Three-Year Term

Joseph K. West
Partner and Chief Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Officer
Duane Morris LLP
Washington, DC

The election of Council officers and members will take place at the Section’s annual business meeting, Friday, August 2, during the ABA Annual Meeting.

Article IX, Section 2 of the Bylaws of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar provides that one or more additional nominations may be made for any designated seat on the Council, including officers of the Council (except Chairperson, Immediate Past Chairperson, and representative of the Young Lawyers Division), by petition signed by not less than 50 members of the Section in good standing, not more than 10 of whom are residents of any one state. A person so nominated shall be called the "petitioner". The petition shall specify which nominee the petitioner is challenging and shall state that the petitioner has agreed to the nomination and meets the criteria for the position being sought. The petition shall be delivered in person or by mail to the Section Office at the Association headquarters and must be received no later than June 1. The Secretary shall thereupon confirm that such individual is eligible to serve if elected.

The material in all ABA publications is copyrighted and may be reprinted by permission only. Request reprint permission here.