chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

From the Section Director: Section Spotlight

Erin Ruehrwein
Section Director

2019 ABA Annual Meeting

The ABA’s 2019 Annual Meeting was held in August in San Francisco. Section Annual Meeting events included the Section’s annual business meeting and a joint program with the ABA’s Law Student Division on student debt.

In collaboration with the ABA Law Student Division, the Section presented a complimentary program entitled “Road to Zero: A Strategic Approach to Managing Student Loans and Repayment.” More than 30 students attended the program that focused on student loan options, debt repayment strategies, debt resources, and refinancing. Panelists included Moderator Zachary Faircloth, Editor-in-Chief SMU Law Review and Candidate for Juris Doctor May 2020, SMU Dedman School of Law; and Speakers Bob Buch, VP of Business Development and Partnerships, SoFi; Montré Everett, Director of Financial Aid, UC Davis School of Law Office of Admissions and Financial Aid; and Lyssa L. Thaden, Ph.D., AFC®, Managing Director, AccessLex Center for Education and Financial Capability®.

2019 Kutak Award Presentation

The Honorable Christine M. Durham was presented with the 2019 Robert J. Kutak Award during the Council’s August meeting. 

Joan Howland, 2018-19 Kutak Award Committee Chair, presented the award to Justice Durham on Friday, August 23 in Chicago. 

In nominating Justice Durham for the award, Jeffrey Lewis, 2018-19 Council Chair stated: “The Honorable Christine Durham has a record of unparalleled and distinguished service to the legal profession and the public which it services. She served for thirty-five years as a justice of the Supreme Court of Utah, including ten years as Chief Justice and a term as President of the Conference of Chief Justices. She served as Chair of the Section of Legal Education and Admissions to the Bar. She is an exemplar of Robert J. Kutak's vision of one deserving of this award which carries his name.”

Joan Howland, Kutak Award Committee Chair, presents the award to Justice Christine Durham.

Joan Howland, Kutak Award Committee Chair, presents the award to Justice Christine Durham.

Save the Date
2020 New Deans’ Workshop, Deans’ Workshop and Law School Development Conference

The Section will host its workshops for New Deans and Deans, along with its Law School Development Conference in the Summer of 2020. Please watch for more information regarding the dates and locations. 

2019-2020 ABA Standards and Rules of Procedure for Approval of Law Schools

The new edition of the Standards is now available. Download the full pdf or purchase a hard copy in the ABA Webstore

The material in all ABA publications is copyrighted and may be reprinted by permission only. Request reprint permission here.