From the Section Director: Section Spotlight

Erin Ruehrwein
Section Director

2018 Annual Meeting

The ABA’s 2018 Annual Meeting was held in August in Chicago. Section Annual Meeting events included a council meeting, business meeting, student debt program, and the Kutak Award Reception.

In collaboration with the ABA Law Student Division, the Section presented a complimentary program entitled “Road to Zero: A Strategic Approach to Student Loan Repayment.” More than 30 students attended the program that focused on student loan options, debt repayment strategies, debt resources, and refinancing. A podcast featuring the program panelists was also recorded and is available here.

The Section also presented the Honorable Solomon Oliver, Jr. with the 2018 Robert J. Kutak Award at a reception in his honor.

Read more about Annual Meeting events in our Annual Meeting Recap

2019 Associate Deans Conference – Save the Date!

The Section will host its conference for Associate Deans in June of 2019. The specific dates and location will be announced soon. The Co-Chairs of the planning committee are Sondra Tennessee, Associate Dean for Student Affairs at University of Houston Law Center and Larry Cunningham, Associate Dean for Assessment and Institutional Effectiveness at St. John’s University School of Law.

New ABA Website

The ABA launched its new website on October 9. Designed to provide a better user experience, the website features a more effective search function and is mobile friendly. If you have any comments, suggestions, or questions, please feel free to reach out to Erin at  

2018-2019 ABA Standards and Rules of Procedure for Approval of Law Schools

The new edition of the Standards is now available. Download the full pdf or purchase a hard copy in the ABA Webstore