ABA Annual Meeting Recap

The 2018 ABA Annual Meeting was held in Chicago in August. The Section held business meetings and gathered at social events including the Chairperson’s Dinner and Kutak Award Reception. The Section also presented a complimentary program on student debt.

The Chairperson’s Dinner was held at the Gleacher Center. Outgoing Council members pictured below (from left to right) Samuel Chang, Cynthia Nance, The Honorable Jequita Napoli, Maureen O’Rourke (2017-18 Chair), James Klein, and Gregory Murphy (Immediate Past Chair) were recognized for their service to the Section. Outgoing Council member Raymond Pierce was also recognized for his service, but unable to attend the event.

Managing Director Barry Currier presented Chair Maureen O’Rourke (slideshow photo 1) with a membership to the New York Yankee’s Hall of Fame as a small token of appreciation for her contributions as 2017-18 Chair.  

The Honorable Solomon Oliver, Jr. received the 2018 Kutak Award at a reception held in his honor (slideshow photo 2 left to right: Joan Howland, The Honorable Solomon Oliver, Jr., Maureen O’Rourke).

Past Kutak Award recipients joined the celebration (slideshow photo 3 left to right: James White, The Honorable Solomon Oliver, Jr., Peter Winograd).

The Section presented a complimentary program in collaboration with the Law Student Division on law student debt. Panelists included (slideshow photo 4 left to right) Moderator David Scriven-Young, Zach Weber, Lyssa Thaden and Bruce Brotine. A podcast featuring the program panelists is available on the website.

2018 Annual Meeting Photos

2018 Annual Meeting Photos