October 01, 2015

2015-2016 Council Elected at the Section's Business Meeting in Chicago

Rebecca White Berch, Justice of the Supreme Court of Arizona, is the 2015-2016 Section Council Chair

The slate of Council officers and members was unanimously approved at the Section’s business meeting, Saturday, August 1, in Chicago. The Honorable Rebecca White Berch, justice of the Supreme Court of Arizona became the chair of the Council. Gregory G. Murphy, a private practitioner from Billings, Montana, is the chair-elect, and Maureen O’Rourke, dean of Boston University School of Law is the vice chair.

Members-at-large Antonio García-Padilla, dean emeritus and professor at the University of Puerto Rico School of Law; James M. Klein, distinguished visiting professor at Charleston Law School; Cynthia Nance, dean emeritus and professor at the University of Arkansas School of Law (Fayetteville); and The Honorable Jequita H. Napoli, special judge, Cleveland County District Court (Norman, Oklahoma) were all re-elected to three-year terms.

New members-at-large elected to three-year terms are Leo P. Martinez, professor at the University California Hastings College of the Law; Charles Ray Nash, vice chancellor for academic and student affairs in the University of Alabama System; and The Honorable Mary Russell, chief justice of the Supreme Court of Missouri.

The Honorable Solomon Oliver Jr., chief judge in the U.S. District Court, Northern District, was elected to a three-year term as a House of Delegates representative. Josephine Bahn, a student at New York Law School, will serve as the Law Student Division member during 2015-2016.

The complete 2015-2016 Council roster can be viewed on Section's Leadership page.