Events, Webinars and CLE

Explore upcoming and past events on topics related to public defense.

Racial Disparities and Criminal Justice: A Conversation with Cheri Beasley and Ted Shaw

Racial Disparities

Tuesday, February 23, 2021, 3:00 p.m. ET/12:00 p.m. PT – 4:30 pm ET/1:30 pm PT

Join us for a discussion of racial disparities and the criminal justice system with former North Carolina Chief Justice Cheri Beasley and former Director-General of the NAACP Legal Defense Fund Ted Shaw. They will address the progress, backlashes, and personal cost of working to acknowledge and address discrimination in criminal justice, as well as guidance for future reform efforts.

Register - Now!

2021 Summit on Public Defense

Misdemeanor Public Defense: Defending in the Wild West

Moved Online! The 2021 ABA Public Defense Summit on Misdemeanor Public Defense was held on January 21-22, 2021.

Learn More - Summit

Katrina 15th Anniversary Programs

From Katrina to COVID

To mark the 15th Anniversary of Hurricane Katrina, the ABA Standing Committee on Legal Aid and Indigent Defense (SCLAID) together with the Deason Criminal Justice Reform Center at SMU Law School, the ABA Criminal Justice Section and the ABA Section on Civil Rights and Social Justice present webinars on the impact of crisis on two key components of the criminal justice system: Jails and Prisons, and Public Defense. The programs will consider what happens to people trapped in the criminal justice system during times of extreme systemic stress and whether or not such times of crisis can be catalysts for reform. Please join us for these free (non-CLE) programs.

Learn - More

Public Defense Events

Other Events

Explore upcoming and past events on topics related to public defense.

Explore - Events