SCLAID Centennial Access to Justice Award

Award Overview

This award recognizes two young lawyers, one from a civil legal aid practice and one from a public defense practice, for exceptional achievements on behalf of their clients and/or in advancement of the cause of access to justice. The objective of this award is to highlight and raise awareness of exemplary and impactful work being undertaken across the nation by the next generation of leaders in the fields of civil legal aid and public defense.

Learn More - Access to Justice Award

Harrison Tweed Award

Award Overview

Harrison Tweed Award (annual) NLADA and the ABA Standing Committee on Legal Aid and Indigent Defense jointly sponsor this award, which honors state and local bar associations that develop or significantly expand projects or programs to increase access to civil legal services or indigent defense services. Harrison Tweed served as the president of the New York Legal Aid Society and was a national leader of legal aid during the 1940's and 1950's.

Learn More - Harrison Tweed Award

Harrison Tweed Award Winner

The Essex County Bar Association Advocates, Inc. (ECBAA) is the recipient of this year’s award for the exceptional criminal and delinquency defense representation that its members provide to people living in poverty.

Learn More - Award Winner

Clara Shortridge Foltz Award

Award Overview

Clara Shortridge Foltz Award (biennial) Commends a public defender program or defense delivery system for outstanding achievement in the provision of indigent defense services. The achievement may be the result of an effort by the entire program, a division or branch or a special project. This award is co-sponsored by NLADA and the American Bar Association Standing committee on Legal Aid and Indigent Defense. Established in 1985, this award was named for the founder of the nation's public defender system. Foltz, California's first woman lawyer introduced the "Foltz Defender Bill" at the Congress of Jurisprudence and Law Reform in Chicago in 1893.

Learn More - Shortridge Foltz Award