June 06, 2018

Harrison Tweed Award

Harrison Tweed Award Overview

The Harrison Tweed Award was created in 1956 to recognize the extraordinary achievements of state and local bar associations that develop or significantly expand projects or programs to increase access to civil legal services for persons living in poverty or criminal defense services for indigents. The award, given annually by the ABA Standing Committee on Legal Aid and Indigent Defendants and the National Legal Aid and Defender Association, is presented during the ABA Annual Meeting at a joint meeting of the National Conference of Bar Presidents, National Association of Bar Executives and National Conference of Bar Foundations.

Award Criteria

Any local or state bar association in the United States that has 1) developed or significantly expanded a project or program for providing access to legal services for the poor or 2) demonstated long term excellence in maintaining projects or programs providing such access may apply or be nominated, provided that such bar association has not been a recipient of the award for the same or a substantially similar program within the past 10 years. Nominations are particularly encouraged with respect to associations that have developed programs for joint involvement of the private bar with organized legal services or public defender programs.

Award Year

This Award is presented at the Annual Meeting of the American Bar Association in recognition of work done during the year beginning April 1 of the previous year. Projects which began prior to that date will be considered if substantial services have been provided during the April 1 through March 31 period.

Award Resources