chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

SOC Awards

The nomination process for the SOC Awards is open through Friday, August 11, 2023 at 6:00 pm EDT (5:00 pm CDT, 4:00 pm MDT, 3:00 pm PDT)! Below please find the SOC Awards open for nomination, the application process, and the list of past Award recipients. The SOC Awards will be presented at the 2023 SOC Fall Leadership Meeting in Chicago.

Meet the SOC Awards Committee

The 2023 Awards Committee is chaired by Tamara Nash, Young Lawyers Division, served by Committee member Rob Lytle, Section of Intellectual Property Law; and supported by SOC Manager, Kiwani Cooper Graham, and Amy Eggert, Senior Associate Executive Director and Chief of Staff.

SOC Meritorious Service Award

This Award was established in 1994 to highlight the diversity and breadth of Section, Division, and Forum programs and activities and to celebrate the important contributions that these entities make to the life and work of the profession, and in particular to the work of the American Bar Association.

The SOC Meritorious Service Award was last presented to the ABA Young Lawyers Division in recognition for The Young Lawyer Well-being Initiative.

SOC Outstanding Collaboration Award

This Award was established to honor significant or extensive collaboration of two or more SOC entities, the outcome of which provides substantial value to the ABA membership, the profession, or society.  The collaboration may be a program, project, or initiative. 

The SOC Outstanding Collaboration Award was last presented to the ABA International Law Section for its Global Women Series.

For questions, please contact Kiwani Cooper Graham at [email protected].