chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
February 04, 2024

Committees of the House of Delegates

2022 - 2024

Advisory Committee to the Chair of the House Of Delegates (Special Committee)

The Advisory Committee makes recommendations on the orderly functioning of the House and its various committees, the smooth transition of administration, and such other matters as the Chair of the House may request the Advisory Committee to review. It is composed of the former Chairs of the House.

Martha W. Barnett, FL
William R. Bay, MO
Laurel G. Bellows, IL
Allen E. Brennecke, IA
Robert M. Carlson, MT
L. Stanley Chauvin, Jr., KY
N. Lee Cooper, AL
Deborah Enix-Ross, NY
Robert J. Grey, Jr., VA
Barbara J. Howard, OH
William C. Hubbard, SC
Linda A. Klein, GA
Karen J. Mathis, CO
J. Michael McWilliams, MD
atricia Lee Refo, AZ
H. Thomas Wells, Jr.,  AL
Stephen N. Zack, FL

Credentials and Admissions (Standing Committee)

The Committee on Credentials and Admissions, consisting of seven delegates, shall consider and report on all questions relating to qualifications, selection, or credentials of delegates or relating to the compliance of an organization with the requirements for representation in the House.  (The Committee presents the roster at each meeting for the approval of the House.)

CHAIR: Karol Corbin Walker, NJ
VICE CHAIR: John Tarpley, TN
Peter Bennett, ME
Anthony M. Ciolli, USVI
C Elisia Frazier, GA
Ireneo Reus, III, CA
Darcee Siegel, FL

Drafting (Standing Committee)

The Committee on Drafting Policies and Procedures, consisting of five delegates, shall be knowledgeable about format, language and style of Resolutions with Reports and serve as a resource for all members who are interested in bringing Resolutions with Reports to the House for consideration.  Drafters are encouraged to seek the committee’s assistance prior to the deadline for submission of reports.  The Committee shall report to the House on any resolution, report or other matter referred to it by the House or the Chair for revision as to scope, substance, or phraseology.

CHAIR:  Roula Allouch, KY
VICE CHAIR:  Amit D. Ranade, WA
Mark D. Agrast, DC
Christopher Lake Brown, OH
Sharon Stern Gerstman, NY

Committee on Issues of Concern to the Legal Profession (Special Committee)

This Committee will identify issues of concern to the legal profession and find ways to effectively engage the House of Delegates in full debate of these issues. 

CHAIR:  Pamela J. Roberts, SC
VICE CHAIR: Justice Adrienne Nelson, OR
ADVISOR:  William K. Weisenberg, OH
ADVISOR:  H. Thomas Wells, Jr., AL
Matthew Archer-Beck, VA
Ruthe C. Ashley, CA
Jonathan Cole, TN
Jane Lorentzen, IA
Leslie Miller, AZ
Cara Lee T. Neville, MN
Edith G. Osman, FL
Manuel A. Quilichini, PR
Neal R. Sonnett, FL
Juan R. Thomas, IL
Emilio Varanini, CA

Resolution and Impact Review Committee

This Committee shall review the use, implementation and impact of House of Delegates’ resolutions.

CHAIR: Kay H. Hodge, MA
VICE CHAIR: Harry S. Johnson, MD
Stephen E. Chappelear, OH
Nicole Jean Colbert-Botchway,  MO
Jacqueline P. Epstein, LA
Thomas C. Grella, NC
Susan M. Holden, MN
Wendy K. Mariner, MA
Rene Morency, MO
Robert Daniel Oster, RI
Steven M. Richman, NJ
Randi B. Starrett, FL
Pauline A. Weaver, CA
Brandon L. Wolff, NY

Rules and Calendar (Standing Committee)

The  Committee on Rules and Calendar, consisting of five delegates, shall:

1. Assist the Chair in the expeditious handling of the business of the House:
2. Report to the House on proposals to amend the Rules of Procedure;
3. Prepare and send to the Secretary the preliminary calendar for each meeting of the House in time for the required distribution; and
4. Make recommendations to the House on the order of business and late resolutions.

CHAIR:   Laura V. Farber, CA
Stephen J. Curley, CT
Sheena R. Hamilton, MO
Orlando Lucero, NM
Jennifer L. Parent, NH

Select Committee (Special Committee)

The Select Committee reviews the overall functioning of the House with respect to the role of the individual delegate (including reviewing conflict of interest or other allegations against a delegate), effective use of the House’s time through an ongoing review of House customs and procedures.  The Select Committee has ongoing administration of the new members orientation program; continuing preparation and distribution of the pre-meeting “Sneak Preview” and post-meeting “Select Committee Report ” to members.

CHAIR: Alan O. Olson, IA
VICE CHAIR: Lacy L. Durham, TX
REPORTER: Christina Plum, WI

Richard N. Bien, MO
Melanie Bragg, TX
David L. Brown, IA
Pamila J. Brown, MD
Erik A. Christiansen, UT
Alfreda D. Coward, FL
Megan P. Keane, KY
David H. Lefton, OH
Jennifer A. Rymell, TX
Wilson A. Schooley, CA
Wendy C. Shiba, CA
Elizabeth Snow Stong, NY

Steering Committee of the Nominating Committee (Special Committee)

This committee advises on the orientation and training of new Nominating Committee members.  The committee also monitors the compliance of the Principles and Guidelines on the Election Process and sets the agenda and procedures for meetings of the Nominating Committee. 

CHAIR:  Robert L. Rothman, GA
VICE CHAIR: Rachel K. Pirner, KS
Josephine M. Bahn, DC
Lisa A. Bail, HI
Don Bivens, AZ
Luis E. Dubon, III, PR
Charles "Buzz" English, KY
Dana M. Hrelic, CT
Walter W. Karnstein, OR
Anna P. Krolikowska, IL
Jennifer Meling-Aiko Jensen, ID
Darrel J. Papillion, LA
Harold D. Pope, MI
Peter M. Reyes, MN
Mary T. Torres, NM
Daniel Mark Traynor, ND
James F. Williams, WA
Stephen P. Younger, NY

Technology and Communications (Special Committee)

This committee will examine how to improve communications among delegates, between delegates and their constituencies, and between the House of Delegates and other entities within the ABA and outside of the ABA. 

CHAIR:  William D. Johnston, DE
VICE CHAIR: Lisa A. Dunner, DC
Lisa Jill Dickinson, WA
Jacqueline B. Dixon, TN
Michael Fern, CA
Steven S. Hoar, IN
Denzil McKenzie, MA
Richard D. Rivera, FL
Anna M. Romanskaya, CA
David Seserman, CO

Tellers Committee (Special Committee)

The Tellers Committee is authorized by §46.3 of the House Rules to count written ballots. The Tellers also count standing votes taken in the House and perform such other duties as the Chair may prescribe. 

CHAIR: Shasta Inman, NM
Diana-Marie Laventure, NY
Joseph H. Lubben, IA
Tamara P. Nash, SD
Lisa Yang, HI