chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

The finals of the 2020 ABA Negotiation Competition featured a long-anticipated battle for regional supremacy: Northwestern versus Southwestern.

In the end, the Southwestern Law School team of Vanessa Barnett and Tamar Chobanian emerged as the champions for 2020, besting the Northwestern University Pritzker School of Law duo of Emilie Alexandra McConnachie and Conner Collins on Feb. 8 at the ABA Headquarters in Chicago.

The 2020 competition topic was family law.

The ABA Law Student Division Negotiation Competition provides a means for law students to practice and improve their negotiating skills. The competition simulates legal negotiations in which law students, acting as lawyers, negotiate a series of legal problems. The simulations consist of a common set of facts known by all participants and confidential information known only to the participants representing a particular side. All of the simulations deal with the same general topic, but the negotiation situation varies with each round and level of the competition.

Full results:

National Champion

Southwestern Law School
Vanessa Barnett and Tamar Chobanian

National Finalist

Northwestern University School of Law
Emilie Alexandra McConnachie and Conner Collins

National Semifinalists

McGeorge School of Law
Ian Cumings and Yahir Barragan

Ohio State University – Moritz College of Law
Patrick Donahue and Joeseph Torchia

National Quarterfinalists

Ohio State University – Moritz College of Law
Sara Sams and Kathryn R. Scruppi

Tulane University Law School
Hannah Harris and Brooke Alexander

University of Oklahoma College of Law
Blake Allen and Mallory Sullivent

University of St. Thomas School of Law – Minneapolis
Carissa Noelle Maher and Jordan Marie Ortmeier

Also competing in the National Finals were:

American University, Washington College of Law
Cameron Ruffin and Timothy Schmeling

Atlanta’s John Marshall School of Law
James Elliot and Ashley Winston

Florida International University College of Law
Liane Martinez and Lindsay Behnke

Florida International University College of Law
Laura Abril and Lais Negron

Fordham University School of Law
Nathaniel Liebes and Caitlyn Beauchamp

Liberty University School of Law
Nicholas Andrews and Sarah Green

Southwestern Law School
Samantha Dennis and Allyn Davidson

Stetson University College of Law
Jeremy C. Funt and Kaile B. Bennett

Syracuse University College of Law
Jacqueline Chilbert and Allison Kowalczyk

University of California Davis School of Law
Lauren Ball and Thea Percival

University of Georgia School of Law
Jenna Wojcicki and Garrett Michael

University of Oregon School of Law
Mackenzie Klapp and Ryan Rico