chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

The Robert P. Wilkins Awards honor outstanding work with regard to the Division's periodical publications, Law Practice, Law Practice Today, and Law Technology Today. These publications have a practical influence in shaping the actions of lawyers in managing their practices and the practice of law in general.

The Wilkins Awards are in three categories:

  1. Overall Achievement in Division Publications honors an individual or entity that has excelled beyond the standard obligations and contributed significantly through innovation and creativity to the Division's publications.
  2. Best Feature Article honors the author(s) of a single article based on accuracy, originality, overall impact on the legal profession, and quality of writing.
  3. Best Column honors the author(s) of a series of at least three (3) articles in a consistent format that exhibit exceptional merit and broad interest on a subject related to the mission of the ABA Law Practice Division.

About Robert P. Wilkins

Robert P. Wilkins was Chair of the Division's predecessor, the Economics of Law Practice Section from 1980-1981. He was instrumental in establishing the Section's inaugural publication, Legal Economics, and served as its founding editor. He also launched a series of "monographs," which were the Section on Economics of Law Practice's first books.

Award Recipients

  • 2018 - Allison Shields, Mt. Sinai, NY
  • 2018 - Andrew Elowitt, Los Angeles, CA
  • 2018 - Mary Juetten, Phoenix, AZ
  • 2017 - Sharon Nelson & John Simek, Fairfax, VA
  • 2017 - Keith Maziarek, Seattle, WA
  • 2017 - Thomas Grella, Asheville, NC
  • 2016 - Nicholas Gaffney, Fairfax, CA
  • 2016 - Natalie Kelly, Atlanta, GA
  • 2016 - Thomas L. Mighell, Dallas, TX
  • 2015 - James Calloway, Oklahoma, OK
  • 2015 - Kenneth Imo, Washington, DC
  • 2015 - Honorary Bestowal Robert P. Wilkins