chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
October 01, 2013

2013-2014 Commission on Law and Aging

(Note: The pdf for the issue in which this article appears is available for download: BIFOCAL Vol. 35, Issue 1.)

Each September 1, a new roster of commissioners is appointed by the ABA president. Most commissioners serve for multiple years with a handful of new faces starting in any given year; this year, there are four new commissioners. Below, you'll see short biographies of our new additions; you will find them to be a diverse and highly expert group in their individual disciplines. You'll also find the full roster of this year’s Commission. 


Prof. David M. English
University of Missouri Columbia Law School
Columbia, MO


Marcos Acle
Organization of
American States
Washington, DC

Hon. Patricia Banks
Circuit Court of Cook County
Chicago, IL

Walter T. Burke
Niskayuna, NY

Claire Curry
Legal Aid Justice Center
Charlottesville, VA

XinQi Dong
Rush University Senior Care
Chicago, IL

William E. Hopkins
Husch Blackwell LLP
Austin, TX

Jason Karlawish
Institute on Aging
Philadelphia, PA

Prof. Nina Adams Kohn
Syracuse Univ. College of Law
Syracuse, NY

Anthony R. Palermo
Woods Oviatt Gilman LLP
Rochester, NY

Kerry R. Peck
Peck Bloom LLC
Chicago, IL

William L. Pope
Columbia, SC

Robyn S. Shapiro
Drinker Biddle & Reath LLP
Milwaukee, WI

Susan P. Shapiro
Chicago, IL

Patricia D. Struck
DFI Division of Securities
Madison, WI

Newly Appointed Commissioners

WILLIAM E. HOPKINS focuses his practice on administrative and regulatory defense and litigation. He advises both individual health care providers and institutional health care clients on State and Federal licensure, compliance and enforcement matters, with an emphasis on pro-active measures to ensure compliance and minimize litigation risk. Mr. Hopkins’ expertise includes all aspects of health care professional licensure and practice, long term care licensure, regulation and enforcement, medical staff issues, credentialing and compliance with rules of state and federal regulatory agencies. Mr. Hopkins has litigated on behalf of his clients in both State and Federal Administrative Courts, as well as the District Courts of Texas. Mr. Hopkins has also spoken at the local, regional and national level regarding licensure, compliance and enforcement matters. He is currently the Chair of the ABA Health Law Section Coordinating Committee on Diversity and former Co-Chair of the ABA Health Law Section Physician Issues Interest Group.

ROBYN SHAPIRO is a partner in the Health Care Practice Group. Ms. Shapiro provides legal counsel on matters relating to research compliance, bioethics, health care compliance, medical staff matters, health information privacy, informed consent, regulatory and licensing matters, and corporate and commercial issues faced by pharmaceutical and medical device manufacturers and hospitals and academic medical centers. She is a frequent presenter at national conferences and seminars on health care and research compliance issues, and has authored more than 60 articles and book chapters on these and other topics.

SUSAN P. SHAPIRO studies the social construction, social organization, and social control of fiduciary, trust, and principal-agency relationships. Her research has examined white-collar crime, ethics, conflict of interest, the professions, the news media, and medical decision making. Within these settings, studies have addressed regulation (e.g., by the Securities and Exchange Commission), self-regulation (by law firms, fact checkers, first amendment lawyers, news organizations, universities, etc.), as well as the relationship between regulatory strategies and the social organization of white-collar crime and conflict of interest. She is currently conducting observational re-search in two intensive care units investigating how surrogate decision makers make medical—often end-of-life—decisions for patients unable to speak for themselves.

PATRICIA D. STRUCK is the Administrator of the Securities Division of Wisconsin’s Department of Financial Institutions. She is a member of the House of Delegates of the ABA and the State and Local Bar Relations Committee of the ABA Business Law Section; as well as co-chair of the Wisconsin Fellows of the American Bar Foundation. She has served as Chair of the Board of Governors of the State Bar of Wisconsin and served on the Board of Governors. She has chaired the State Bar’s Business Law Section and served on its Board as well as serving on the State Bar’s Multidisciplinary Practice Commission. In 2005-2006, she was president of the North American Securities Administrators Association, the oldest international organization devoted to investor protection, and she currently serves on its Board of Directors. Before beginning her public service career, she was an attorney with a large regional bank and graduated from the American Bankers Association’s National Trust School. She speaks frequently on the subjects of securities regulation as well as the prevention of financial fraud against older investors. She has a B.A. degree from Mount Holyoke College and a J.D. degree from the University of Wisconsin Law School. ■