Issue: Winter 2019

The 2019 EBC Midwinter Meeting in Nashville

Yes, history does occasionally repeat itself, and that’s not always a bad thing. What are we talking about? The Employee Benefits Committee Midwinter Meeting, of course. This year, from February 6 through 9, we will be at the Loews Vanderbilt Hotel in Music City a/k/a Nashville, Tennessee.

By the time you are reading this, we trust you will have recuperated from the holiday season and are thinking about what’s ahead for 2019. Be sure to put the EBC Midwinter Meeting on your calendar, register for the program, and make your hotel reservations.

Our Programming Committee has developed a fantastic agenda this year that is certain to go down as one of the best — if not the best — programs in history. How can we be so sure? Well, take a look at the program and see for yourself.

We have a great mix of topics that focus on all aspects of employee benefits law, whether you work primarily with single employer plans, multiemployer plans, pension benefits, health and welfare benefits, litigate or don’t litigate. We have some new programs, and some old programs that may have slowly risen from the dead. Is the Supreme Court ready for more ERISA cases? What’s all the fuss about arbitrating ERISA claims? What in the world is going on with the ACA? Is stock-drop litigation back? And so much more. Oh, lest we forget, the speaker line-up is top-notch, as well, with senior officials from the U.S. Department of Labor invited to speak along with members of the employee/plaintiff, union, plan and management bars.

If all of that is not enough to get you to Nashville — how could it not be? — remember that Nashville really does have it all. Nashville has the excitement of a big city with a small town feel, full of Southern charm and hospitality. It also has great dining, fantastic cultural and architectural attractions, and, of course, it has great shopping.

Nashville is sure to be one of the “hottest” EBC Midwinter Meetings in history, and we hope to see you there.


Your Co-Chairs