March 06, 2019

NCSCJ Nominating Committee Report

The National Conference of Specialized Court Judges has published in the JD Record and circulated electronically to the membership, a call for nominations for open 2019-2020 NCSCJ Officer and Executive Committee positions.

According to Conference Bylaws, one or more additional nominations may be made for any office, including District Representative of the Executive Committee by petition signed by not fewer than 10 members of the Conference, representative of at least three states. The petition must state that the individual nominated has agreed to the nomination. The petition shall be sent to the Chair of the Conference and must be received no less than 60 days prior to the Opening Assembly of the Annual Meeting. Nominations may be made from the floor for any office, except that nominations for District Representative may be made only by members from that district during their election caucus.

The NCSCJ Nominating Committee recommends the following names for the 2019-2020 open Executive Committee positions:

Chair-Elect: Hon. Ronald B. Ramsey, Sr. (Decatur, GA)
Vice-Chair: No Candidate Nomination Received
Member-at-Large: Hon. Ernestine Gray (New Orleans, LA)

District 1 (ME, MA, NH, NY, RJ, VT): No Candidate Nomination Received
District 2 (CT, DE, MD, NJ, PA, OH): No Candidate Nomination Received
District 5 (AL, AR, FL, MS, MO, VI) No Candidate Nomination Received
District 9 (AK, ID, MT, NE, OR, WA, WY): No Candidate Nomination Received

Per the Bylaws, Chair- Elect Hon. Lisa Atkinson has named Hon. Andra Sparks (Birmingham, AL) as Secretary.

At the conclusion of the Annual Meeting, Hon. Shelbonnie Hall (Mobile, AL) will assume the position of Chair.

Elections will be held on Saturday, August 10, 2019 at the NCSCJ Business Meeting during the ABA Annual Meeting San Francisco, CA. Election of the Chair-Elect, Vice-Chair, Member-at-Large, and District Representative positions shall be by majority vote of those members present and eligible to vote. District Representatives representing geographic areas shall be elected only by the members from their representative geographic areas at district caucuses held during the Annual Meeting.

Respectfully submitted by the members of the Nominating Committee:

Col. Tara Osborn, Chair
Hon. Beth Gibson
Hon. John Kennedy