chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
National Conference of State Trial Judges

About Us

Who We Are

A powerful force for improvement of the judiciary since its inception in 1958, the NCSTJ is the oldest organization of general jurisdiction state trial judges in continuous existence in the nation.

Our Mission

The NCSTJ seeks to improve the administration of justice, promote judicial independence, increase public understanding of the judicial system, provide a national forum to exchange information on common issues, and represent the interest of the nation's general-jurisdiction trial judges in building a stronger, more effective system to resolve disputes.


Diversity is a core value of the NCSTJ and is important in achieving our optimum potential as a professional organization.  Mutual respect toward differences in age, race, creed, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, national origin, religion, disability, marital status, socioeconomic status, or political affiliation, strengthens the administration of justice and propels the work of the NCSTJ.

Issues of Importance 

The NCSTJ focuses resources on timely topics of universal interest to state trial judges;  these topics have historically included the following:

  • Producing timely, quality judicial education
  • Encouraging the highest in judicial ethics and professional conduct
  • Establishing effective procedural guidelines for judicial work
  • Promoting diversity throughout the legal system
  • Improving the process of administration of justice in the courts
  • Strengthening the jury system through the ABA Principles for Juries and Jury Trials
  • Enhancing the public's understanding and respect for the judicial system
  • Improving judiciary use of technology
  • Obtaining reasonable compensation, retirement plans, and work conditions for judiciary systems
  • Supporting the National Judicial College—originally created as a part of the NCSTJ!




2023-2024 NCSTJ Executive Committee


Chair                                        Hon. Marcella A. Holland, Baltimore, MD
Chair-Elect                            Hon. Denise Langford Morris, Pontiac, MI
Vice-Chair                             Hon. Marguerite Downing, Monterey Park, CA
Secretary                               Hon. Marian Perkins, Chicago, IL
Immediate Past Chair     Hon. Vivian Medinilla, Wilmington, DE

Executive Committee:

2024                  Hon. Nicole Colbert-Botchway, St. Louis, IN
2024                  Hon. David M. Connors, Farmington, UT
2024                  Hon. Stephanie Domitrovich, Erie, PA
2024                  Hon. Christina Klineman, Indianapolis, IN
2024                  Vacant
2025                  Hon. Peter K. Killough, Upper Marlboro, MD
2025                  Hon. Margaret Masunaga, Kealakekua, HI
2025                  Hon. Guy L. Reece, II, Blacklick, OH
2025                  Hon. Paul Wilson, Auburndale, MA
2025                  Vacant

Delegate to ABA House of Delegates:   Hon. Calvin L. Scott, Wilmington, DE 
ABA Board of Governors Liaison:          Hon. James Lockemy, Dillon, SC

NCSTJ History

Since its inception in the 1958-59 association year, the NCSTJ has dedicated itself to the improvement of the administration of justice. It is the oldest and largest organization of general jurisdiction state trial judges in the nation. Looking back at its rich history, the NCSTJ demonstrates continuous efforts to advance and meet the ever changing needs of the judiciary.

50th Anniversary

In 2009 the NCSTJ marked its 50th Anniversary, acknowledging the many contributions and accomplishments of its dedicated members that has shaped the judiciary today.

25th Anniversary

In the 1983-1984 association year, the NCSTJ celebrated its silver year anniversary honoring the past chairs and their contributions.