Participation is the key to Lawyers Conference providing members a lively and open forum for analysis, debate, education and production of publications, software, and videos, as well as programs to enhance the administration of justice.

Lawyers Conference Committees allow members to participate in judicial reform, court delay reduction, civil justice reform and community-based justice efforts with the support of the ABA. Members also initiate proposals and assess improvements in the courts and broader issues of justice reform.

Many Lawyers Conference members have expressed the view that Committee work has provided them with unprecedented professional and personal growth. The Lawyers Conference encourages members to become involved and to bring to the attention of these Committees their ideas and concerns so that the objectives and interests of all members can be heard, understood and incorporated into Lawyers Conference proposals, projects and initiatives.

How to Join A Committee

  • LC Committee terms begin on September 1 and end August 31 annually.
  • All Committee members must re-enroll on a yearly basis. Enrollment will NOT be carried over.
  • You must be a current member of the Judicial Division Lawyers Conference.
  • There is no fee to join a committee and is a benefit to LC members.

LC members are encourage to enroll online today!

2018-2019 Lawyers Conference Committees

Commitee Descriptions

Chair: TBD

Co-Chair: Monica Fennell
Co-Chair: Robert Saunooke

Finance & Non-Dues Revenue
Chair: Jim Pauli

JD Record Editor
Editor: TBD

The Judges' Journal Editor
Editor: Daniel Gourash

Chair: Josephine Bahn

Nominating Committee
Chair: Mark O’Halloran

Programs & Publications
Chair: Mario Sullivan

Public Outreach
Chair: Andrew Schpak

*by appointment only

Perceptions of Justice

July 2011 Report

The Lawyers Conference Perceptions of Justice project began in 2008 under the leadership of Judge Michael B. Hyman of Chicago. Over the next three years, the Lawyers Conference held six programs around the nation that provided an open forum for dialogue between judges and members of local communities about perceptions of, and personal experiences, with the justice system. A modified “town hall” format with small group discussions was used for some programs and expert panels with audience participation were employed in others. In July 2011, the Lawyers Conference published a written report that provides an overview of each program and highlights some of the themes that emerged. The next phases the Perceptions of Justice project include further review and analysis of the themes and lessons learned from the programs toward the end that the later phases of POJ produce specific strategies for addressing identified concerns. A panel discussion during the 2012 ABA Midyear Meeting in New Orleans, Louisiana began this process. The Lawyers Conference is also creating a “how-to” guide and/or online toolkit to assist bar associations, community groups, and other entities that are interested in conducting their own Perceptions of Justice town hall meetings. These tools will be released in conjunction with the upcoming Perceptions of Justice Summit sponsored by the Judicial Division under the leadership of Judge William J. Missouri. The 2013 POJ Summit will bring together representatives of the many discreet bar associations to address issues surrounding the perceptions of justice and wrap up to the town hall meeting format for the Judicial Division, thus moving the effort forward toward bringing judges, courts, lawyers, and academia, and community groups together on a national scale to advance citizen understanding and support for the justice system on the one hand and better administration of justice for all on the other.