Lawyers Conference


Burnham "Hod" Greeley Award

The Burnham “Hod” Greeley Award is given each year to a person or organization who has made a significant positive impact on public understanding of the role of the judiciary in a democratic society and its importance to the rule of law.  This award honors the late Hawaii attorney Burnham “Hod” Greeley, a dedicated leader within the ABA who was committed to promoting public trust and confidence in our justice system.

Past winners include:

2019   Hon. Angel Kelley, Associate Justice, Massachusetts Superior Court
2018    Peter G. McCabe
2017    Julie Myres, Outreach Coordinator, San Diego Superior Court
2016    National Association of Women Judges
2015    Hon. Karen Arnold Burger, Kansas City Court of Appeals
2014    Todd Nuccio, Trial Court Administrator for the 26th District of North Carolina
2013    Mark Harrison, Attorney at Osborn Maedon
2012    Thomas C. Barnett, Jr. Executive Director of the State Bar of South Dakota
2011     Judge G. Joseph Pierron, Court of Appeals
2010    Lawrence Okinaga from the Carlsmith Bal firm in Honolulu and the Colorado Bar Association and Colorado Judicial Institute         
2009    Doreen D. Dodson
2008    Annenberg Foundation Trust at Sunnylands
2007    League of Women Voters

Robert B. Yegge Award

The Robert B. Yegge Award for Outstanding Contribution in the Field of Judicial Administration is given each year to the person who best emulates the many outstanding contributions to the field of judicial administration.  The award honors Robert B. Yegge, former Dean Emeritus of the University of Denver Sturm College of Law and former Chair of the Lawyers Conference (1987-88).  

Past winners include:

2018   Judge Chad C. Schmucker, Reno, NV
2017   Chief Administrative Law Judge Karen V. Clopton, San Francisco, CA
2016   Mary Campbell McQueen, Williamsburg, VA
2015   Victoria S. Cashman, Middletown, OH
2014   Judge Ben C. Clyburn, Annapolis, MD
2013    Judge Robert R. Merz, Dayton, OH
2012    Justice Frank Sullivan, Jr., Indianapolis, IN
2011    Judge J. Rich Leonard, Raleigh, NC
2010    Alan Carlson, Kensington, CA
2009    Justice Rebecca Love Kourlis, Denver, CO

Robert Yegge 2018 Video