chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
The Justice and Rule of Law Award

Past Recipients

Presented by the ABA Judicial Division

2019 Judge M. Margaret McKeown, United States Circuit Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit (read remarks)

2018 Mr. Juan Cartagena, President and General Counsel, LatinoJustice PRLDEF (New York, NY)

2017 Judge Andre M. Davis, Senior Judge, United States Circuit Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit 

2016 Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman (ret.), New York Court of Appeals 

2015 Chief Justice Randall Shepard (ret.)  (Indianapolis, IN)

2014 Mary Campbell McQueen (Williamsburg, VA)

2013 Chief Judge Robert M. Bell (Baltimore, MD)

2012 Rebecca Love Kourlis (Denver, CO)

2011 Justice Sandra Day O’Connor (Phoenix, AZ) and
William H. Neukom (San Francisco, CA)

2010 Chief Justice Shirley S. Abrahamson (Madison, WI)

2009 Edward W. Madeira, Jr. (Philadelphia, PA)

2008 Judge Deanell Reece Tacha (Lawrence, KS)

2007 Chief Justice Ronald George (San Francisco, CA)

2006 Judge Norma L. Shapiro (Philadelphia, PA)

2005 Judge Judith S. Kaye (New York, NY)

2004 William T. Coleman, Jr. (Washington, D.C.)

2003 Senator Howell Heflin (State of Alabama)

2002 Justice Anthony Kennedy (U.S. Supreme Court)

2001 Governor Tom Ridge (State of Pennsylvania)