John Marshall Award

This prestigious Award was established by the American Bar Association to recognize those dedicated to the improvement of the administration of justice. The John Marshall Award is named in honor of the fourth Chief Justice of the United States, who is credited with establishing the independence of the judiciary and enhancing its moral authority.

Award Criteria

The John Marshall Award may be presented to any individual who has made a positive national impact on the justice system. Nominees may be non-lawyers as well as lawyers. Eligibility is open to any individual responsible for extraordinary improvement to the administration of justice in the categories of: Judicial Independence, Justice System Reform, and/or Public Awareness about the Justice System.

2019 John Marshall Award

The 2019 John Marshall Award was presented to Honorable M. Margaret McKeown, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, on Friday, August 9.

Learn - More

Past Recipients

Previous recipients of the John Marshall Award have included a U.S. Supreme Court Justice, a former U.S. Senator, and other governmental, educational, and administrative leaders who have made noteworthy positive changes in their respective spheres of the justice system.