March 10, 2021

Call for Nominations: John Marshall and Civility Awards

The Judicial Division is now accepting applications for the John Marshall Award and The William D. Missouri Civility Award. The awards will be presented at the 2021 ABA Annual Meeting.

Applications are due May 7, 2021.

John Marshall Award

The John Marshall Award is named in honor of the fourth Chief Justice of the United States, who is credited with establishing the independence of the judiciary and enhancing its moral authority. It is presented annually in conjunction with the ABA Annual Meeting.

Nomination Form

The Honorable William D. Missouri Civility Award

The award is presented to a person who exhibits exceptional qualities of civility, courtesy and professionalism in their legal or judicial careers towards not only colleagues and litigants, but the public at large. The award may also be presented to a person or organization who promotes civility and professionalism in the legal profession.

Nomination Form

Questions?  Contact Kris Berliant at or 312.988.5700.