March 19, 2021 National Conference of Specialized Court Judges

Nominating Committee Report


The National Conference of Specialized Court Judges (NCSCJ) electronically published its call for nominations for open Executive Committee positions for the 2021-2022 year via Maestro on December 18, 2020 and February 8, 2021, on the Judicial Division website on December 23, 2020, and in the 2021 Winter Edition of the Judicial Division Record. The NCSCJ Nominating Committee met on March 11, 2021 and, after due consideration and discussion of all applications received, and mindful of ABA Goal III and the conference’s diversity policy as stated in Article 2.5 of the conference bylaws, nominates the following members for open Executive Committee positions:

Chair-Elect: Hon. Andra Sparks (Birmingham, AL)

Vice-Chair:  No Candidate Nomination Received

At-Large District Representative: No Candidate Nomination Received

District 1 Representative (ME, MA, NH, NY, RI, VT): Hon. Joseph Roszkowski (Cumberland, RI)

District 3 Representative (DC, IL, IN, KY, VA, WV): No Candidate Nomination Received

District 6 Representative (IA, MI, MN, ND, SD, WI): Hon. David Perkins (Detroit, MI)

Per the bylaws, Incoming Chair Hon. Phinia Aten has named Hon. Charles Price, II (Birmingham, AL) as Secretary.

At the conclusion of the Annual Meeting, Hon. Phinia Aten (Conyers, GA) will assume the position of Chair.[1]

According to conference bylaws, one or more additional nominations may be made for any office, including District Representative of the Executive Committee by petition signed by not fewer than 10 members of the Conference, representative of at least three states.  The petition must state that the individual nominated has agreed to the nomination.  The petition shall be sent to the Chair of the Conference and must be received no less than 60 days prior to the Opening Assembly of the Annual Meeting.  Nominations may be made from the floor for any office, except that nominations for geographic District Representative may be made only by members from that geographic district during their election caucus.

Elections will be held at the NCSCJ Business Meeting held in conjunction with the 2021 ABA Annual Meeting. Election of the Chair-Elect, Vice Chair, and At-Large District Representative shall be by majority vote of those members present and eligible to vote. District Representatives representing geographic areas shall be elected only by the members from their representative geographic areas at district caucuses held during the Annual Meeting.

Respectfully submitted by the members of the Nominating Committee:

Hon. Shelbonnie Hall, Chair (Mobile, AL)

Hon. Elizabeth Ann Fitch, Member (Baltimore, MD)

Hon. Jeffrey Gilliam, Member (Birmingham, AL)

Hon. Garland Moore, Member (Conyers, GA)

Col. Tara Osborn, (Ret.), Member (Pinehurst, NC)

March 19, 2021



[1] Per Article 4.3(b) of the NCSCJ Bylaws, the Chair-Elect automatically becomes the Chair upon the adjournment of the next Annual Meeting of the Association.