March 09, 2020 National Conference of Specialized Court Judges

NCSCJ Nominating Committee Report


The National Conference of Specialized Court Judges (NCSCJ) electronically published its call for nominations for open Executive Committee positions for the 2020-2021 year. The NCSCJ Nominating Committee met on March 6, 2020 and, after due consideration and discussion of all applications received, and mindful of ABA Goal III and the conference’s diversity policy as stated in Article 2.5 of the conference bylaws, nominates the following members for open Executive Committee positions:

Chair-Elect: Hon. Phinia Aten (Conyers, GA)

Vice-Chair:  Hon. Andra Sparks (Birmingham, AL)

At-Large District Representative: Hon. Michael Barrasse (Scranton, PA)

District 3 Representative (DC. IL, IN, KY, VA, WV): No Candidate Nomination Received

District 4 Representative (GA, NC, PR, SC, TN): No Candidate Nomination Received

District 7 Representative (KS, LA, NM, OK, TX, UT): Committee Makes No Nomination

District 8 Representative (AZ, CA, CO, HI, NV): Hon. Elizabeth Finn (Glendale, AZ)

Conference Delegate to the House of Delegates: Col. (Ret.) Linda Murnane (Xenia, OH)

Per the Bylaws, Chair-Elect Hon. Ronald Ramsey, Sr. has named Hon. Berryl Anderson (Decatur, GA) as Secretary.

At the conclusion of the Annual Meeting, Hon. Ronald Ramsey, Sr. (Decatur, GA) will assume the position of Chair.

According to Conference Bylaws, one or more additional nominations may be made for any office, including District Representative of the Executive Committee by petition signed by not fewer than 10 members of the Conference, representative of at least three states.  The petition must state that the individual nominated has agreed to the nomination.  The petition shall be sent to the Chair of the Conference and must be received no less than 60 days prior to the Opening Assembly of the Annual Meeting.  Nominations may be made from the floor for any office, except that nominations for geographic District Representative may be made only by members from that geographic district during their election caucus.

Elections will be held on Saturday, August 1, 2020 at the NCSCJ Business Meeting held in conjunction with the 2020 ABA Annual Meeting in Chicago, Illinois. Election of the Chair-Elect, Vice Chair, and At-Large District Representative shall be by majority vote of those members present and eligible to vote. District Representatives representing geographic areas shall be elected only by the members from their representative geographic areas at district caucuses held during the Annual Meeting.

Respectfully submitted by the members of the Nominating Committee:

Col. (Ret.) Tara Osborn, Chair (Pinehurst, NC)

Hon. Elizabeth Ann Fitch, Member (Baltimore, MD)

Hon. Beth Gibson, Member (Newberry MI)

Hon. Jeffrey Gilliam, Member (Birmingham, AL)