2017 Section Award Recipients

The Section of International Law was pleased to present the following awards during its 2017 Spring Meeting.

Outstanding International Corporate Counsel Award

This award is given to a practicing attorney employed by a company or other entity as an in-house counsel and who has demonstrated a significant contribution to the legal profession and the furtherance of the practice of law in an international context.

Naosuke Fujita and Hiroki Inaba are recognized for their significant contributions to initiate and sustain changes for the advancement of the rule of law and the rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) people in Japan.

World Order Under Law Award

This award was established to recognize individuals who have made a substantial contribution to and provided visionary leadership for advancing the Rule of Law in the world.

Ambassador Ronalth Ochaeta is recognized for his substantial contributions to advancing the Rule of Law. He has been Guatemala’s Ambassador at the Organization of American States (OAS). He was an advisor to the executive office of the Inter-American Institute of Human Rights (IIHR) and program officer for Colombia and Cuba. He is an expert on the international protection of human rights.

Mayre Rasmussen Award for the Advancement of Women
in International Law

This award seeks to recognize lawyers who have demonstrated a careerlong commitment to advancing career opportunities  for women in international law.

Priti Suri is recognized for her role as a mentor and in opening doors for  women and women lawyers in India. She helped found the Society of  Women Lawyers – India (SOWL), and has been its President since its  inception in 2008. SOWL has successfully advanced reforms of criminal laws affecting women in India.