The ABCs of CLE

ALABAMA
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files only.  DO NOT file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Alabama requires 12 hours of CLE per calendar year.  Reporting date:  December 31.

ALASKA

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files.  Filing of the certificate is optional with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

ARIZONA
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files only.  DO NOT file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Arizona requires 15 hours of CLE per calendar year including 3 hours ethics/professional responsibility, professionalism, substance abuse or ADR.  Reporting date:  September 15.

ARKANSAS
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Arkansas requires 12 hours of CLE per calendar year including 1 hour of legal ethics.  Reporting date:  June 30.

CALIFORNIA
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files only.  DO NOT file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

California requires 25 hours of CLE over a 3-year period including 4 hours of legal ethics, 1 hour of substance abuse and 1 hour of elimination of bias in the profession.  Reporting date:  January 31

COLORADO
(50 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Colorado requires 45 hours of CLE over a 3-year period including 7 hours of legal ethics and professionalism.  Reporting date: anytime within a 3 year period

CONNECTICUT

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files.  Filing of the certificate is optional with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

DELAWARE
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files only.  DO NOT file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Delaware requires 24 hours of CLE over a 2 year period including 4 hours of enhanced ethics and fundamentals of law (a 3 day series for new admittees within 4 years of admission).  Reporting date:  December 31

FLORIDA
(50 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Florida requires 30 hours of CLE over a 3 year period including 5 hours of legal ethics, professionalism, substance abuse or mental illness awareness and a basic skill course for newly admitted attorneys.  Reporting date:  assigned month every 3 years

GEORGIA
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Georgia requires 12 hours of CLE per year including 1 hour of legal ethics, professionalism, basic skills within the 1st two years and 3 hours of ADR (one time only).

Reporting date:  January 31

IDAHO
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Idaho requires 30 hours of CLE over a 3 year period including 2 hours of legal ethics and a basic skills course for new admittees.  Reporting date:  every 3rd year after admission

ILLINOIS
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files only.  DO NOT file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Illinois requires 20 hours of CLE every 2 years including a minimum of 4 hours in the areas of professionalism, diversity issues, mental illness and addiction issues, civility or legal ethics. 

INDIANA
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Indiana requires 36 hours over a 3 calendar year period with a minimum of 6 hours each year including 3 hours of legal ethics.  Reporting date:  December 31

IOWA

Iowa requires 15 hours of CLE per calendar year including 2 hours of legal ethics every 2 years.  Reporting date:  March 1.  Iowa attorneys should contact their Commission on CLE to verify legal ethics requested for any program.

KANSAS
(50 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Kansas requires 15 hours of CLE per year including 2 hours of legal ethics.  Reporting date:  30 days after program

KENTUCKY
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Kentucky requires 12.50 hours of CLE per year including 2 hours of legal ethics and new lawyer skills training within 12 months of admission.  Reporting date:  June 30

LOUISIANA
(50 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet. (Louisiana attorneys must complete the State Bar of Louisiana Course Scanner Form to record attendance ONLY when the program is held in Louisiana.)

Louisiana requires 12.50 hours of CLE per year including 1 hour of legal ethics and 1 hour of professionalism.  Newly admitted attorneys need 12.50 hours including 8 hours of ethics, professionalism or law practice management.  CLE Completion date:  December 31.  Reporting date:  January 31.

MAINE
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Maine requires 11 hours of CLE per year including 1 hour of ethics or professional responsibility.  Reporting date annually

MINNESOTA
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files only.  DO NOT file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

MISSISSIPPI
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Mailing address:
The Mississippi Bar
Post Office Box 2168
Jackson, Mississippi 39225-2168

Phone: 601-948-4471   

Fax Number: 601-355-8635

MONTANA
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files only.  DO NOT file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Montana requires 15 hours of CLE per year.  Reporting date is March 1.

NEBRASKA

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files.  Filing of the certificate is optional with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

NEW HAMPSHIRE
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files only.  DO NOT file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

New Hampshire requires 12 hours of CLE, at least 6 from out of the office live programs, including 2 hours of legal ethics/professionalism or substance abuse.  Reporting date:  August 1.

NEW MEXICO
(50 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

New Mexico requires 15 hours of CLE including 1 hour of ethics and 2 hours of professionalism.  Reporting date:  prior to March 1 annually.

NEVADA
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Nevada requires 12 hours of CLE per year (2 of those hours must be in ethics).  Reporting date is March 1.

NEW YORK
(50 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files only.  DO NOT file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the New York sign-in sheet.

NORTH CAROLINA
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files only.  DO NOT file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

North Carolina requires 12 hours of CLE per year including 2 hours of ethics, 9 hours in practical skills (during the first 3 years of admission) and 1 hour of substance abuse every three years.  Reporting date:  February 28.

NORTH DAKOTA
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

North Dakota requires 45 hours of CLE over a 3 year period, including 3 hours of ethics.  Reporting date:  June 30.

OHIO
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Ohio requires 24 hours of CLE every 2 years including 2 hours of ethics and ½ hour on substance abuse.  Reporting date:  every 2 years on January 31.

OKLAHOMA
(50 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files only.  DO NOT file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Oklahoma requires 12 hours of CLE per year including 1 hour of ethics.  Reporting date:  February 15.

OREGON

Oregon requires 45 hours of CLE over a 3-year period including 6 hours of ethics (1 of those 6 hours on child abuse reporting and 3 on courses pertaining to the role of lawyers concerning racial and ethic issues, gender fairness, disability issues, and access to justice).  For new admittees, 15 hours of CLE is required including 10 on practical skills and 2 hours on ethics).  Oregon attorneys should contact their Commission on CLE to verify legal ethics requested for any program.  Reporting date:  December 31 every 3 years.

PENNSYLVANIA
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.  Take and complete only one PACLE credit request form.  Section B must be completed (the total hours claimed in Section B must equal the sum of the hours on the Uniform Certificate of Attendance).  Attach the Uniform Certificate of Attendance to the PACLE credit request form.  Pennsylvania requires an attendance fee payment of $1.50 per credit hour, or any portion thereof. 

Mail all of the above with a check made payable to PACLE to:  PACLE, 5035 Ritter Road, Suite 500, P. O. Box 869, Mechanicsburg, PA  17055.

Pennsylvania requires 12 hours per year for all 3 compliance groups (1 hour of ethics, professionalism, or substance abuse and a minimum of 11 hours of substantive law, practice and procedure).  Reporting date:  30 days after program.

PUERTO RICO
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Puerto Rico requires 24 hours of CLE every two years.

RHODE ISLAND
(50 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Rhode Island requires 10 hours of CLE per year including 2 hours of ethics.  Reporting date:  July 1-June 30 annually.

SOUTH CAROLINA
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files only.  DO NOT file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

South Carolina requires 14 hours of CLE per year including 2 hours of ethics/professional responsibility.  Reporting date:  January 15.

TENNESSEE
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Tennessee requires 15 hours of CLE per year including 3 hours of ethics/professionalism.  Reporting date:  March 1.

TEXAS
(60 minute state)

Complete a State Bar of Texas CLE Course Scanner Form using a #2 pencil.  Return completed card to the CLE counter at the meeting BEFORE you leave.  The ABA will submit the card to Texas. 

Texas requires 15 hours of CLE per year including 3 hours of legal ethics (1 of these 3 hours may be completed through self study).  Five hours of the 15 may be done through self study.  Reporting date:  last day of birth month each year.

UTAH

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files only.  DO NOT file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Utah requires 27 hours of CLE every 2 years including 3 hours of ethics.  Reporting date:  end of second year of compliance period.

VERMONT
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files only.  DO NOT file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Vermont requires 20 hours of CLE over a 2 year period including 2 hours of ethics.  Reporting date:  July 15.

VIRGINIA
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Virginia requires 12 hours of CLE per year including 2 hours of ethics.  Virginia attorneys should contact their Commission on CLE to verify legal ethics requested for any program.  CLE Completion deadline:  October 31.  Reporting date:  December 15.

WASHINGTON
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files only.  DO NOT file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Washington requires 45 hours of CLE over 3 years including 6 hours of ethics, professional responsibility, professionalism, anti-bias and diversity.  At least 30 credits must be earned by attendance at live CLEs.  Reporting date:  January 31.

WEST VIRGINIA
(50 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

West Virginia requires 30 hours of CLE over 2-years including 3 hours of ethics and professional responsibility.  Reporting date:  December 31st every other year.

WISCONSIN
(50 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance for your files only.  DO NOT file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Wisconsin requires 24 hours of CLE over 2-years including 3 hours of ethics, office management, substance abuse, or elimination of bias in the profession.  Reporting date:  June 30 every 2 years.

WYOMING
(60 minute state)

Take a copy of the Uniform Certificate of Attendance.  You must file the certificate with your MCLE state agency.  Sign the general sign-in sheet.

Wyoming requires 15 hours of CLE per year including 1 hour of ethics.  Reporting date:  January 30.