Diversity Fellowship

Applicant Criteria:

  • Applicant must have practiced law in the international context and/or shown interest in international law (law firm, international organization, government, NGO, university) for at least one year after graduation.
  • Applicant must be up to 36 years old or admitted to a bar for less than 6 years, must be committed to international law issues as covered by the 64 Section substantive committees
  • Applicant must be a diverse lawyer as defined by the Section and ABA Goal III. While applicants need not be ABA or Section members, we require accepted Fellows to become dues paying members of the ABA and the Section.

Fellow Responsibilities:

  • The Section will assign each Fellow up to $3,000 per year towards the cost of airfare, hotel and transportation in attending the Spring Meeting each year of their two-year Fellowship.
  • Active Committee participation as required by the Section for all Section Leaders.
  • Fellows must meaningfully contribute to their assigned substantive Committee by contributing to publications, actively working on programs, policies and projects and become actively engaged within the Committee by participating on calls of the Committee leadership.
  • Fellows must keep regular communication with their Committee Chair, the Diversity Officer and any other assigned mentor from the Section to identify leadership opportunities on an ongoing basis and produce a work-plan.
  • Fellows must complete and return a post-meeting report that outlines the Fellow’s involvement in these Section events, what was achieved and any deliverables produced.
  • Fellows must submit to the Diversity Officer and the Section’s Administration Committee a quarterly progress report on the work-plan of their Fellowship.
  • If you are interested in applying for this Fellowship please submit your full application no later than March 15, 2017 to Angela Benson at angela.benson@americanbar.org. Please refer to the full application package and instructions. The Selection Committee will notify selected Fellows no later than June 1, 2017.