2019-2020 ABA International Law Section Awards

Congratulations to the honorees of the 2019-2020 ABA International Law Section Awards!  The Section recognizes the honorees for their sustained and outstanding service in the field of international law.

Lifetime Achievement Award

The Lifetime Achievement Award is given to Section members who have contributed in an extraordinary way to the Section and whose contribution has had a positive and lasting impact on the Section’s mission and goals.

Recipient: Jonathan Granoff, President, Global Security Institute

World Order Under Law Award

This award is presented periodically by the Section to individuals who have made a substantial contribution to and provided visionary leadership in pursuit of the American Bar Association’s Goal IV, which is “To Advance the Rule of Law in the World.”

Recipient: Justice Stephen Breyer, Associate Justice, Supreme Court of the United States

Francis Shattuck Security and Peace Award

Established in memory of Francis Shattuck, the Francis Shattuck Security and Peace Award is given biannually by the International Law Section.  The Award honors a person who has demonstrated significant creativity, initiative and courage in the cause of international security and peace by taking a concrete action or making a specific proposal to address an ongoing or past international conflict, or to strengthen institutions of diplomacy, peace enforcement or justice.  

Recipient: Ambassador Prudence Bushnell, Former U.S. Ambassador to Kenya and Guatemala

Award for the Outstanding Performance by an International Lawyer in Government or International Organization

This award is presented to individuals who have demonstrated sustained, outstanding service in the field of international law to include contributing to the development of the international system or to the rule of law, for general professional excellence or for other purposes consistent with the Section’s goals, priorities, or mission.

Recipient: Steven Hill, Former NATO Legal Adviser and Director, Office of Legal Affairs

Mayre Rasmussen Award for the Advancement of Women in International Law

The Section presents this award periodically to individuals who have achieved professional excellence in international law, encouraged women to practice international law, enabled women lawyers to attain international law job positions from which they were excluded historically, or advanced opportunities for women in international law.

Recipients: Hon. Delissa Ridgway, U.S. Court of International Trade; Rose Rameau, Partner, Rameau Law Firm

Leonard J. Theberge Award for Private International Law

In memory of Section Chair, Leonard J. Theberge (1979–80), this award was established to honor those persons who have made distinguished, long-standing contributions to the development of private international law.

Recipient: Ira Kurzban, Partner, Kurzban Kurzban Tetzeli and Pratt P.A.

Louis B. Sohn Award for Public International Law

In honor of Section Chair, Louis B. Sohn (1992–93), this award is presented to those persons who have made distinguished, long-standing contributions to the field of public international law.

Recipient: Stephen McCaffrey, Carol Olson Endowed Professor of International Law, University of the Pacific, McGeorge School of Law