chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

The Mayre Rasmussen Award for the Advancement of Women in International Law is presented to distinguished lawyers who have demonstrated significant contributions to advancing opportunities for women’s inclusion and active participation in the field of international law.

2024 Recipient

Hon. Elizabeth S. Stong

Judge Elizabeth S. Stong has served as U.S. Bankruptcy Judge for the Eastern District of New York since 2003. Before entering on duty, she was a litigation partner and associate at Willkie Farr & Gallagher in New York, associate at Cravath, Swaine & Moore, and law clerk to Hon. A. David Mazzone, U.S. District Judge in the District of Massachusetts. Judge Stong is a member of the Council on Foreign Relations, the Council and Awards Committee of the American Law Institute, and the New York County Lawyers Association Board of Directors. Judge Stong is active in international judicial capacity building and has trained judges in thirty countries on five continents, including in Central Europe, North Africa, the Middle East, and the Arabian Peninsula as an expert with the World Bank, the International Finance Corporation, the U.S. Department of Commerce Commercial Law Development Program, and ABA-ROLI. Judge Stong has consistently and persistently encouraged women to engage in the practice of international law, just as she has done in her own professional life. Judge Stong’s global footprint and enduring mentorship of women in the practice of law wherever in the world she finds herself has created countless opportunities for women through advancement in international law settings, particularly in the business law, UNCITRAL and international arbitration fields.


  • 2022—Lelia Mooney Sirotinsky
  • 2021—Cindy Galway Buys
  • 2020—Hon. Delissa Ridgway; Rose Rameau
  • 2019—Linda Murnane
  • 2018—Carolyn B. Lamm; Lisa J. Grosh
  • 2017—Priti Suri
  • 2016—Amy L. Sommers
  • 2015—Lisa J. Savitt
  • 2014—“Courageous Counsel” (Kara Baysinger; Michele Coleman Mayes; Louise Firestone; Gail Lione; Louise Pentland)
  • 2013—Maria Vicien-Milburn 
  • 2012—Hope Lewis 
  • 2011—Carol Mates 
  • 2010—Diane Marie Amann 
  • 2009—Mary J. Harnett 
  • 2008—Deborah Enix-Ross 
  • 2007—Marsha A. Echols