chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

In honor of Section Chair, Louis B. Sohn (1992-93), this award is presented to those persons who have made distinguished, long-standing contributions to the field of public international law.


  • 2023—Edith Brown Weiss
  • 2021—Gay J. McDougall
  • 2020—Stephen McCaffrey
  • 2019—Hans Corell; Lucinda Low
  • 2018—Hon. Stephen Schwebel; Ved Nanda
  • 2017—Homer Moyer, Jr.
  • 2016—Bruce Rashkow
  • 2015—Hon. Joan Donoghue
  • 2014—Daniel Magraw
  • 2013—James R. Silkenat
  • 2012—Anne-Marie Slaughter
  • 2011—John F. Murphy
  • 2010—Jerome J. Shestack
  • 2009—James H. Carter, Jr.
  • 2008—Louis B. Henkin
  • 2007—Rosalyn Higgins
  • 2006—Hon. Thomas Buergenthal
  • 2005—Harold Koh
  • 2004—Arthur Helton 
  • 2000—Elliot Richardson