chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

In memory of Section Chair Leonard J. Theberge (1979-80), the Leonard J. Theberge Award for Private International Law was established to honor those persons who have made distinguished, long-standing contributions to the development of private international law.


  • 2022—Steven M. Richman
  • 2021—William M. Hannay, III (posthumous)
  • 2020—Ira Kurzban
  • 2019—Michael Byowitz
  • 2018—Linda Silberman
  • 2017—Henry Gabriel
  • 2016—Lou Del Duca
  • 2015—Eric E. Bergsten 
  • 2013—Michael Marks Cohen
  • 2012—Louise Ellen Teitz
  • 2011—Ronald A. Brand
  • 2010—Peter D. Trooboff
  • 2009—Mary Helen Carlson
  • 2008—David Stewart
  • 2007—Peter Winship
  • 2005—Don Wallace, Jr.
  • 2004—Boris Kozolchyk
  • 2002—Harold S. Burman
  • 2000—Adair Dyer