chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.

The Francis Shattuck Security and Peace Award honors a person who has demonstrated significant leadership and courage in advancing and defending security and peace the rule of law on the national or international level.  A nominee can be active in the fields of military or civilian law or institutions, or in other professional activity that promotes security and peace through the rule of law. Nominees have furthered security and peace through the international rule of law by taking a concrete action or making a specific proposal to address an ongoing international conflict, or to strengthen international institutions of peace enforcement or justice and exemplified the promotion of security and peace through the international rule of law that was central to the career of Francis Shattuck.

2024 recipient

General Mark A. Milley

General Milley is a United States Army general who retired in 2023 after serving his country with with great honor for forty-five years, having established a personal record of exceptional military leadership. General Milley is recognized with the Shattuck Award for his long dedication to security and peace, and for his courageous commitment to the role of the U.S. military under the Constitution especially at the pinnacle of his career. From 2019 to 2023 he served as Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff under Presidents Trump and Biden. He was the highest-ranking officer in the United States Armed Forces and the principal military advisor to two presidents, and at their direction he also advised the Secretary of Defense, the National Security Council and the Homeland Security Council.


  • 2022—Vicki Aken
  • 2020—Ambassador Prudence Bushnell
  • 2018—Roy Gutman
  • 2016—Lakhdar Brahimi
  • 2012—William H. Taft, IV
  • 2010—Patricia M. Wald
  • 2008—Ambassador Christopher Hill
  • 2006—Senator George J. Mitchell