October 25, 2020

ABA-IPL eNews October 2020

Attorney Wellness Committee

The Attorney Wellness Committee invites all Section members to attend an important webinar on November 4, 2020 at 11am PT / 1pm CT/ 2pm ET, entitled, Concerned Colleagues: Licensure & The Impaired Practitioner

Substance abuse and addictions can affect any practitioner, in any setting, and at any time.  Left untreated, they can destroy careers and lives.  This program will teach individuals how to recognize the impaired practitioner, provide various resources to assist in the recovery, and also identify the possible disciplinary implications of an impaired practitioners’ conduct. The presenters will provide attendees with an understanding of addiction as an illness, help them recognize the characteristics of various addictions and how they affect the legal professional, spot warning signs of, and learn how to begin the conversation with, an impaired practitioner, educate on the interface between potential practitioner disciplinary action and impairment as well as possible reporting obligations, and identify resources available to the impaired legal professional and their colleagues.

Speakers:

  • Sarah Myers, Executive Director of the Colorado Lawyers Assistance Program
  • Dahlia George, Staff Counsel, USPTO Office of Enrollment & Discipline
  • Dr. Michael F. Barnes, Chief Medical Officer, Foundry  Treatment Center

For more information and to join, visit the Attorney Wellness Committee webpage.

Premium Content For:
  • Intellectual Property Law Section
Join - Now