Mark T. Banner Award




The ABA Section of Intellectual Property Law is proud to announce the
2019 Mark T. Banner Award Honoree 

Robert A. Armitage

Consultant on intellectual property strategy and policy matters and member of the board of directors for the American Intellectual Property Law Education Foundation


Premium sponsor

Banner & Witcoff

Join us at the 2019 Mark T. Banner Award Luncheon

34th Annual Intellectual Property Law Conference
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Crystal Gateway Marriott
Arlington, Virginia 

Visit for more information.

About the Award

This award, established in honor of the late Mark T. Banner, is presented to an individual or individuals who have made an impact on IP law and/or practice. Winners of this award have expressed a clear passion and enthusiasm for, and advanced the practice, profession and/or substance of IP law through extraordinary contributions to, among, other things, teaching, scholarship, innovation, legislation, advocacy, bar or other association activities, or the judiciary.

Past Award Recipients 

2018 Award Recipients

Simon Tam
Musician, Author, Entrepreneur, and Activist

John Connell
Partner, Archer & Greiner P.C.

Ron Coleman
Partner, Archer & Greiner P.C.

Joel G. MacMull
Associate, Archer & Greiner P.C.

2017 Award Recipients

Hon. Lucy H. Koh
U. S. District Court, Northern District of California

Don W. Martens
Founding Partner, Knobbe Martens Olson & Bear

Dr. Kate Darling
MIT Media Lab Research Specialist, Harvard Berkman Center Fellow, Robot Ethics Expert

2015 Award Recipients

Jane C. Ginsburg
Morton L. Janklow Professor of Literary and Artistic Property Law, Columbia University Law School.

Donald L. Dunner
Finnegan, Henderson, Farabow, Garrett & Dunner, L.L.P

Tony Dutra
Legal Editor, Bloomberg BNA's Patent, Trademark & Copyright Journal

2014 Award Recipients

Hayden Gregory
Legislative Consultant, ABA Section of Intellectual Property Law

Hon. Paul R. Michel
Former Chief Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

Kenneth D. Crews
Lawyer, Professor, and International Copyright Consultant

2013 Award Recipients

Hon. Pauline Newman
U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

Click here to see Judge Newman's acceptance of the 2013 Mark T. Banner Award

Christina Bohannan
Professor, University of Iowa College of Law

2012 Award Recipients

Hon. James F. Holderman
Chief Judge of the United States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois.

Read Chief Judge James F. Holderman's Tribute to Mark T. Banner

2011 Award Recipients

Marybeth Peters
Former Register of Copyrights

Judge Richard Linn
United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit