chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
August 11, 2023

Five Trailblazing Women Received Margaret Brent Awards on August 6 at ABA Annual Meeting in Denver

Margaret Brent, considered the first woman lawyer in the U.S., reportedly won all 124 of her cases in the 1600’s. In her honor, the ABA Commission on Women in the Profession established the Margaret Brent Women Lawyers of Achievement Award. Those receiving awards at this year’s sold-out ABA Annual Meeting  event were Deborah Willig, a labor lawyer who served as the lead negotiator for the National Women’s Soccer League Players Association; Jill Wine-Banks, who started her career at DOJ as on of the Watergate prosecutors and who now is an author, legal analyst for MSNBC, and co-host of two Politicon podcasts; Yvette Ostolaza, a Big Law litigator who serves as the chair of the management committee chair of Sidley Austin; Melissa Murray, a New York University School of Law constitutional law professor who is also a legal analyst for MSNBC and who hosts a podcast on the Supreme Court; and Justice Sabrina S. McKenna, the first openly LGBTQ Asian American to serve on the Hawaii Supreme Court. 

The material in all ABA publications is copyrighted and may be reprinted by permission only. Request reprint permission here.