chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
July 21, 2020

The ABA Health Law Section Leadership Recognition in 2019-2020

The ABA Health Law Section is pleased to recognize the following individuals and member driven groups for their stellar work in the 2019-2020 bar year.

  • Michael E. Clark of Baker Donelson and Joel Androphy of Berg & Androphy for their leadership in developing the Inaugural ABA False Claims Act Virtual Trial Program. The first of its kind program featured a live, three-day mock virtual jury trial via Zoom conducted by experienced False Claims Act lawyers from the government, relators’ and defense bar.
  • Hayley Penan of the State of California’s Office of Legislative Counsel for her leadership Chairing the Section’s COVID-19 Task Force. Created under the umbrella of the Public Health and Policy Interest Group, the COVID-19 Task Force has been active in developing resources and programming for Section members, in collaboration with members and other interest groups.
  • The Physicians Issues Interest Group (IG) led by Chair, Elizabeth Greene of Mirick for their efforts in developing COVID-19 programming for their members and the physician community through co-sponsorship with the Chicago Medical Society. The IG vice chairs include Tyler Cowart of UC San Diego Health, Thomas Hutchinson of Krieg DeVault and Chip Hutzler of Horne.
  • The Distance Learning & National Institute Committee, led by Co-Chairs Curtis Bernstein of Pinnacle Health and William Hopkins of Shackelford, for the committee's efforts in adapting quickly under COVID-19 resulting in Virtual EMI programming, as well as weekly member benefit webinars in coordination with the Section’s Interest Groups. The committee’s vice chairs include Aaron Beresh of Howard & Howard, Danielle Borel of Breazeale Sachse & Wilson, Erica Lindsay of Lindsay Law, Patrick Mincey of Cranfill Sumner & Hartzog, Ramana Rameswaran of Katten, Richard Romero of Coker Group, Ben Wallfisch of Norton Rose Fulbright, Eric Weatherford of Husch Blackwell and Torrey Young of Mukasey Frenchman & Sklaroff.
  • The Coordinating Committee on Diversity, led by Chair Michelle Apodaca of Katten, for their vital work to enhance diversity in the Section’s leadership and governance. The committee’s vice chairs include Alexandria Hien McCombs, Eunice Aikins‐Afful, Julian Rivera of Husch Blackwell, Marcelo Corpuz of Davita, Montrece Ransom of the CDC and Stephanie Willis of Crowell.

If you have any questions about leadership in the ABA Health Law Section, please contact Simeon Carson, Director, at [email protected].