chevron-down Created with Sketch Beta.
Champion of Diversity and Inclusion Award

Nominations Now Being Accepted for 2024 HLS Champion of Diversity and Inclusion Award

Diversity and Inclusion Committee

We know you’re busy.  We also know you care.  There are people within our Section who make the extra effort to foster an environment of acceptance and equality.  There are people within our Section who go above and beyond to promote diversity and inclusion within the Section and the legal profession.

People like David Douglass.  People like Denise Hanna, Bill Hopkins, and Tommy Smith. People like Montrece Ransom, David Hilgers, Lisa Atlas Genecov and Alexandria Hien McCombs.

We want to recognize our Champions for their work.  But we need your help.  Has someone championed you or others in the Section?  If so, celebrate that person by nominating him/her for the ABA Health Law Section Champion of Diversity and Inclusion Award. This award honors an ABA Health Law Section member who has made exceptional efforts to promote diversity and inclusion within the Section and/or the legal profession.

The deadline to submit nominations for this award is January 12, 2024, via the electronic nomination form
.  The nomination process is easy.

The award will be presented at the ABA Health Law Section's Emerging Issues in Healthcare Law Conference on April 4, 2024 at the JW Marriott in New Orleans, LA.  The recipient must be present to receive the award.  The Section reserves the right not to present the award if there are no suitable candidates.

Questions? Contact Simeon Carson at [email protected]

Your 2023-24 Diversity and Inclusion Committee

  • William Hopkins, Chair, Spencer Fane, Dallas, TX
  • Clay Countryman, Breazeale, Sachse & Wilson, LLP, Baton Rouge, LA
  • David Douglass, Sheppard Mullin, Washington DC
  • Beth Guest, Nashville, TN
  • James Kiai, Hall Render, Indianapolis, IN
  • Sarah Frazier, Law Office of Sarah Frazier, PLLC, Houston, TX
  • Ima E. Nsien, Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP, Los Angeles, CA
  • Paul Pitts, Reed Smith, San Francisco, CA
  • Lisa D. Taylor, Inglesino, Webster, Wyciskala & Taylor, LLC, Parsippany, NJ
  • Hilary Hughes Young, Joy & Young, Austin TX
  • Denise Zamore, United HealthCare, South Windsor, CT