Renew Your Membership and Spread the Word about GPSolo!

In case you did not know, the ABA’s Bar Year runs from September 1 to August 31. Thus, your membership may have expired without your even knowing it. Please be sure that your membership to GPSolo is renewed so you don’t miss out on the many benefits of membership, including this award-winning magazine.

More Information.

GPSolo is unique in offering access to 32 substantive committees that deal with concerns pertaining to essential areas of law and professional issues such as practice specialty and practice setting. You can join as many committees as you wish with your membership. Be sure to join one or more today. For more, see

Also, the best recruitment campaign is your personal story regarding your membership experience. Give the gift of GPSolo membership by sharing your experiences in the ABA and GPSolo with your colleagues. We need you to be the cheerleader for the profession that you live and breathe every day. Let’s spread the word about the ABA and GPSolo today!

More Awards for GPSolo Magazine

GPSolo recently received two awards for issues published in 2016: The May/June 2016 “Environmental Law” issue won an APEX Award for Publication Excellence in the category “Green: Magazines, Journals & Tabloids”; and the September/October 2016 “Leadership” issue was named a “Top 25 Best Single Issue” in the Tabbie Awards overseen by Trade, Association and Business Publications International. Congratulations to May/June 2016 Issue Editors Joan M. Durocher (convening), Cedric Ashley, James M. Durant III, Ashley Hallene, Christine M. Meadows, and Benjamin K. Sanchez; and September/October 2016 Issue Editors Benjamin K. Sanchez (convening), James M. Durant III, Ashley Hallene, Kathleen J. Hopkins, Christine M. Meadows, and Angela Morrison; along with Editor-in-Chief Jeffrey Allen, the entire GPSolo magazine Editorial Board, Managing Editor Robert Salkin, Senior Art Director Tamara Kowalski, and everyone who helped make each issue such a success.

Division Leadership

The Division is pleased to announce the following changes to its leadership for the 2017–2018 Bar Year:

Executive Committee:

Chair: Stephen D. Williams

Chair-Elect: Melanie Bragg

Vice Chair: Richard A. DeMichele Jr.

Secretary: Alfreda D. Coward

Immediate Past Chair: David H. Lefton

Budget Officer: Stephen J. Curley

Revenue Director: Benes Z. Aldana

Division Delegates to the House of Delegates: James M. Durant III, Stephen B. Rosales, and Jennifer A. Rymell

Council Members-at-Large: Joel M. Carney, G. Rawson Stevens, Thomas A. Urquhart, and Melody M. Wilkinson

Board of Governors Liaison: Scott C. LaBarre

Law Student Division Liaison: Jessica MacPhee

Young Lawyers Division Liaison: Esther Hyun

Diversity Fellows: Tamorra Boyd, Lawanda Hodges, Aastha Madaan, and Inti Martinez-Aleman

Young Lawyer Fellows: Jordan Couch and Marie Sarantakis

Call for Nominations for 2018–2019 Secretary and Council Members-at-Large

The following members have been appointed to serve as the Nominating Committee for the 2017–2018 Bar Year: Jennifer A. Rymell (chair), Henry Hamilton III, Alan O. Olson, Richard T. Evangelista, and Thomas P. Tully.

The Nominating Committee will meet during the 2017 Solo & Small Firm Summit in St. Paul, Minnesota, to nominate individuals for the positions of Secretary and Members-at-Large of the Council. In accordance with §4.4 of the Division bylaws, the committee will nominate five Council Members-at-Large to serve four-year terms. Minority applicants are encouraged. The duties, terms of office, and eligibility requirements for each of the positions to be filled are outlined in the Division bylaws, which can be found online at To be considered, please complete the online nominating questionnaire. If you have any questions, please contact Steve Wildi at